Opening draw includes holders

UEFA Champions League winners Liverpool FC are among the teams in the first two qualifying round draws on Friday.

Liverpool involved
The draws will be held at 12.00CET at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. Twenty-four clubs will be involved in the first qualifying round draw - including holders Liverpool FC who were given special dispensation to enter the competition despite finishing fifth in the English Premiership in the 2004/05 campaign.

Dozen seeded
Liverpool will be one of a dozen seeded teams, and will also be seeded should they progress to the second qualifying round. At that stage, an additional 16 clubs will enter the competition with all but three of those entrants being seeded for the draw. Both draws will be carried live on

Third qualifying round
The first qualifying round will be played over two legs on 12/13 and 19/20 July, with the second qualifying round following on 26/27 July and 2/3 August. The draw for the third qualifying round will be made at 12.00CET in Nyon on 29 July. The final will be played on 17 May 2006 at the Stade de France in Paris.

For a full list of the clubs involved in the 2005/06 Champions League, click here.

First qualifying round pots

Liverpool FC (ENG)FK Rabotnicki (MKD)
FC Artmedia Bratislava (SVK)FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP)FC Pyunik (ARM)
NK Gorica (SLO)Sliema Wanderers FC (MLT)
FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)KF Tirana (ALB)
FC Haka (FIN)FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)
FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL)Glentoran FC (NIR)
Shelbourne FC (IRL)Total Network Solutions FC (WAL)
NK Zrinjski (BIH)F91 Dudelange (LUX)
Skonto FC (LAT)PFC Neftchi (AZE)
FC Sheriff (MDA)HB Tórshavn (FAR)
FBK Kaunas (LIT)FC Kairat Almaty (KAZ)

Second qualifying round pots

Winner match 1HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)
Celtic FC (SCO)FC Thun (SUI)
RSC Anderlecht (BEL)Malmö FF (SWE)
FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)Winner match 2
FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)Winner match 3
FK Partizan (SCG)Winner match 4
Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)Winner match 5
FC Steaua Bucuresti (ROU)Winner match 6
Brøndby IF (DEN)Winner match 7
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)Winner match 8
PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)Winner match 9
Debreceni VSC (HUN)Winner match 10
Trabzonspor (TUR)Winner match 11
Vålerenga IF (NOR)Winner match 12