UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Past finals: Bayern

The 2009/10 season will be FC Bayern München's eighth European Champion Clubs' Cup final, their four victories coming in three successive years from 1974 and again in 2001.

Bayern's Franz Beckenbauer lifts the trophy in 1975
Bayern's Franz Beckenbauer lifts the trophy in 1975 ©Getty Images

The 2009/10 decider will be FC Bayern München's eighth European Champion Clubs' Cup final, their third in the UEFA Champions League era and their first since 2001. UEFA.com looks back on their previous finals, four of which ended with the trophy heading to Germany.

1973/74 FC Bayern München 1-1 Club Atlético de Madrid (aet)
Replay FC Bayern München 4-0 Club Atlético de Madrid
Germany's first European Cup was won in dramatic fashion in Brussels, Georg Schwarzenbeck – one of six Bayern players who would feature in West Germany's victorious FIFA World Cup side that summer – cancelling out Luis Aragonés's free-kick in the final seconds of extra time to force a replay. Two days later Bayern romped to victory, two more of their national-team contingent – Uli Hoeness and Gerd Müller – sharing the goals.

1974/75 FC Bayern München 2-0 Leeds United AFC
Bayern became the fifth team to successfully defend the European Cup with victory at the Parc des Princes in Paris. Goals in the final 20 minutes from Franz Roth and Müller again – the latter's strike making him the seventh man to score in successive finals – salvaged an otherwise disappointing season in which Bayern finished tenth in their domestic league.

1975/76 FC Bayern München 1-0 AS Saint Etienne
Bayern followed Real Madrid CF and AFC Ajax in completing a hat-trick of triumphs, recording memorable wins against Madrid and SL Benfica en route to the final at Hampden Park, Glasgow, where the only goal came in the 57th minute from their free-kick specialist Roth.

1981/82 Aston Villa FC 1-0 FC Bayern München
The German club reached the final with an impressive 7-4 dismantling of a dangerous PFC CSKA Sofia side, Paul Breitner and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge each scoring twice in the semi-final second leg in Munich, but came unstuck at De Kuip in Rotterdam. A gripping final was settled by Peter Withe's goal midway through the second half.

1986/87 FC Porto 2-1 FC Bayern München
PSV Eindhoven, FK Austria Wien, RSC Anderlecht and Real Madrid were dispatched in the run to the final at Vienna's Praterstadion, and the trophy looked to be heading for Munich again when Ludwig Kögl gave Bayern a 25th-minute lead. Opponents Porto bounced back to take control, however, and, though it took until the 77th minute for Rabah Madjer to level, Bayern had no answer with substitute Filho Juary scoring the winner four minutes later.

1998/99 Manchester United FC 2-1 FC Bayern München
Bayern again tasted defeat although for much of the final at the Camp Nou it looked as if their 23-year wait for a fourth triumph would be ended as Mario Basler's sixth-minute free-kick gave them the edge. Mehmet Scholl and Carsten Jancker both hit the woodwork before Bayern fell victim to perhaps the most dramatic finale in European Cup history, Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjær scoring in added time.

2000/01 FC Bayern München 1-1 Valencia CF (aet, 5-4 pens)
Bayern had overcome Manchester United and Real Madrid in the quarter and semi-finals respectively on the way to Milan. Penalties were the dominant theme at San Siro, Gaizka Mendieta giving Valencia a second-minute lead from the spot and Stefan Effenberg replying in identical fashion five minutes into the second period after Mehmet Scholl's first-half spot-kick had been saved by Santiago Cañizares. It was to be Bayern's Oliver Kahn who had the last word, however, saving three penalties in the shoot-out including, decisively, one from Mauricio Pellegrino.

Selected for you