UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Another 32 title winners join the fray

The UEFA Champions League second qualifying round begins on Tuesday with first phase victors Birkirkara FC and FK Rudar Pljevlja joining 32 fellow European title winners in the mix.

Debrecen celebrate scoring against Fiorentina in the group stage last term
Debrecen celebrate scoring against Fiorentina in the group stage last term ©Getty Images

Birkirkara FC and FK Rudar Pljevlja are a step closer to the UEFA Champions League group stage after reaching the second qualifying round, where they will join 32 other European title winners.

Montenegrin champions Rudar face PFC Litex Lovech of Bulgaria after beating SP Tre Fiori 7-1 over two legs in the first qualifying round, while Maltese titleholders Birkirkara are up against Slovakian counterparts MŠK Žilina following a 7-3 aggregate victory over FC Santa Coloma. With two games down, Rudar and Birkirkara would need to negotiate a further 18 fixtures to defy the odds and reach the Wembley final next May.

Also seeking a place in the third qualifying round draw on 16 July are 2009/10 group-stage contenders Debreceni VSC from Hungary, who play FC Levadia Tallinn of Estonia. Czech representative AC Sparta Praha must overcome Latvia's SK Liepājas Metalurgs while Belarusian side FC BATE Borisov, who experienced the group stage two seasons ago, encounter Iceland's FH Hafnarfjördur and Norwegian champions Rosenborg BK take on Linfield FC from Northern Ireland.

The first legs will take place on 13 and 14 July with the returns the following week. The likes of four-time European Champion Clubs' Cup winners AFC Ajax, RSC Anderlecht and Celtic FC lie in wait in the third qualifying round.

2010/11 UEFA Champions League second qualifying round draw
First leg:
13/14 July
Second leg: 20/21 July
1SK Liepājas Metalurgs (LVA)vAC Sparta Praha (CZE)
2FK Aktobe (KAZ)vFC Olimpi Rustavi (GEO)
3FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)vDebreceni VSC (HUN)
4FK Partizan (SRB)vFC Pyunik (ARM)
5FC İnter Bakı (AZE)vLech Poznań (POL)
6NK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)vFC Koper (SVN)
7PFC Litex Lovech (BUL)vFK Rudar Pljevlja (MNE)
8Birkirkara FC (MLT)vMŠK Žilina (SVK)
9FC Sheriff (MDA)vKS Dinamo Tirana (ALB)
10Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)vFK Željezničar (BIH)
11AC Omonia (CYP)vFK Renova (MKD)
12FC Salzburg (AUT)vHB Tórshavn (FRO)
13Bohemian FC (IRL)vThe New Saints FC (WAL)
14FC BATE Borisov (BLR)vFH Hafnarfjördur (ISL)
15AIK Solna (SWE)vAS Jeunesse Esch (LUX)
16Linfield FC (NIR)vRosenborg BK (NOR)
17FK Ekranas (LTU)vHJK Helsinki (FIN)

Selected for you