UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Barcelona handed Leverkusen tie

European champions FC Barcelona have been drawn to play Bayer 04 Leverkusen in the round of 16, with Real Madrid CF taking on PFC CSKA Moskva and AC Milan meeting Arsenal FC.

Barcelona handed Leverkusen tie
Barcelona handed Leverkusen tie ©UEFA.com

Holders FC Barcelona will continue the defence of their UEFA Champions League title against Bayer 04 Leverkusen after the draw for the round of 16 was held in Nyon, Switzerland.

2011/12 UEFA Champions League round of 16 draw
Full schedule

Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) v APOEL FC (CYP)
SSC Napoli (ITA) v Chelsea FC (ENG)
AC Milan (ITA) v Arsenal FC (ENG)
FC Basel 1893 (SUI) v FC Bayern München (GER)
Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER) v FC Barcelona (ESP, holders)
PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS) v Real Madrid CF (ESP)
FC Zenit St Petersburg (RUS) v SL Benfica (POR)
Olympique de Marseille (FRA) v FC Internazionale Milano (ITA)

The Spanish side − currently in Yokohama for the FIFA Club World Cup, where they will take on Santos FC in Sunday's final − will travel to Germany for the first leg in February, with the return at the Camp Nou in March. Barcelona's domestic rivals Real Madrid CF, who won all six Group D games − only the fifth team to achieve a perfect record in the UEFA Champions League group stage − take on PFC CSKA Moskva.

Four-time winners FC Bayern München have been paired with FC Basel 1893,  who eliminated last season's beaten finalists Manchester United FC in Group C. The teams met previously in the 2010/11 group stage, Bayern winning 2-1 in Switzerland and 3-0 in Munich. The 2010 champions FC Internazionale Milano face Ligue 1 side Olympique de Marseille, the winners in 1993.

The draw contained three debutants at this stage in APOEL FC, SSC Napoli and FC Zenit St Petersburg, with the Cypriot titleholders pitted against Olympique Lyonnais in what was the first tie to be drawn. Chelsea FC are the opponents for Napoli while Zenit will tackle SL Benfica.

AC Milan, who claimed the last of their seven titles in 2007, have been paired with Arsenal FC − 2-0 winners on aggregate against the Italian side at this stage of the 2007/08 competition. The first legs will be played on 14/15/21/22 February; the returns will take place on 6/7/13/14 March.

Full schedule