UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Bayern set record with tenth successive win

FC Bayern München posted their tenth straight UEFA Champions League win away against PFC CSKA Moskva, surpassing the record set by FC Barcelona in 2002/03.

Bayern beat Barcelona's winning run ©Getty Images

With today's 3-1 success away to PFC CSKA Moskva, FC Bayern München have set a new mark with an unprecedented tenth successive win in the UEFA Champions League proper.

FC Barcelona set the original record of nine straight victories in the course of the 2002/03 campaign, but Bayern's sequence spans two coaches and two seasons. It kicked off with a first-leg triumph against Juventus under Jupp Heynckes in the quarter-finals of last term's competition, where they posted five straight wins en route to lifting the trophy at Wembley in May. Five more victories under Heynckes' successor Josep Guardiola in Group D this time out have rewritten the record books.

"Credit for this achievement rightfully belongs to Jupp Heynckes," said Guardiola, who as a player had left Barcelona for Italy by the time the Spanish club embarked on their nine-game winning streak in 2002/03.

"I'm very proud, especially because we secured these victories in such a dominant fashion," the Bayern coach added. "Ten consecutive wins in Europe is very special. It wasn't an easy game today, but it showed what great character this team have. There are no excuses at a club like Bayern – you always have to play well."

Over the course of their ten triumphs – since losing 2-0 at home to Arsenal FC in March – the German title holders have scored 28 goals and conceded just three.

The Bayern run in full is:
2-0, home v Juventus
2-0, away v Juventus
4-0, home v FC Barcelona
3-0, away v FC Barcelona
2-1, neutral v Borussia Dortmund
3-0, home v PFC CSKA Moskva
3-1, away v Manchester City FC
5-0, home v FC Viktoria Plzeň
1-0, away v FC Viktoria Plzeň
3-1, away v PFC CSKA Moskva

Top three winning streaks
FC Bayern München 10 (02/04/2013 – 27/11/2013)
FC Barcelona* 9 (18/09/2002 – 18/02/2003)
Borussia Dortmund 8 (04/12/1996 – 01/10/1997)

* Barcelona won 11 successive European matches during the 2002/03 campaign. The sequence commenced in the third qualifying round against Legia Warszawa before continuing into the competition proper. It ended when they were held 0-0 at FC Internazionale Milano in the second group stage.

Selected for you