UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Five days to go ... one-nation finals

UEFA.com continues its countdown to the UEFA Champions League final on 6 June by looking at the five one-nation deciders in the 60-year history of the European Cup.

Raúl González (left) and Fernando Morientes both scored in the 2000 final
Raúl González (left) and Fernando Morientes both scored in the 2000 final ©Getty Images

1999/2000: Real Madrid CF 3-0 Valencia CF
(Morientes 39, McManaman 67, Raúl 75)
Stade de France, Paris
• Neither Madrid nor Valencia were reigning Spanish champions when they met in the first UEFA Champions League final between domestic rivals. Vicente del Bosque's team had little problem overcoming their opponents in Paris.

2002/03: Juventus 0-0 AC Milan (aet, Milan win 3-2 on pens)
Old Trafford, Manchester
• With Milan and Juve well acquainted, it proved a tense affair of few openings. Clarence Seedorf and Kakha Kaladze failed for Milan in the shoot-out, but David Trezeguet, Marcelo Zalayeta and Paolo Montero did likewise for Juve, enabling Andriy Shevchenko to take the trophy to Milan.

2007/08: Manchester United FC 1-1 Chelsea FC (aet, United win 6-5 on pens)
(Ronaldo 26; Lampard 45)
Stadion Luzhniki, Moscow
• Chelsea, in their first final, lost Didier Drogba to an extra-time red card yet nevertheless had a chance to prevail in the shoot-out. John Terry slipped and missed his attempt, though, and Nicolas Anelka's subsequent failure to convert enabled Ryan Giggs to slot the winner.

2012/13: Borussia Dortmund 1-2 FC Bayern München
(Gündoğan 68pen; Mandžukić 60, Robben 89)
Wembley Stadium, London
• İlkay Gündoğan's penalty swiftly cancelled out Mario Mandžukić's opener, but Arjen Robben – who had a spot kick saved in extra time of Bayern's 2012 final defeat on home soil – finished calmly on 89 minutes to earn Bayern their fifth title.

2013/14: Real Madrid CF 4-1 Club Atlético de Madrid (aet)
(Ramos 90+3, Bale 110, Marcelo 118, Ronaldo 120pen; Godín 36)
Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon
• Atlético were agonisingly close to adding the UEFA Champions League to their Liga crown, but the momentum was with their city rivals in extra time after a last-gasp equaliser. Cristiano Ronaldo provided the late coup de grace to rubber-stamp Madrid's 'Décima'.

Selected for you