UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Can Ronaldo break his Champions League record?

Cristiano Ronaldo goes into the final against Atlético Madrid needing one more goal to match his own record of 17 in a UEFA Champions League campaign.

Will Cristiano Ronaldo set a new mark in the final?
Will Cristiano Ronaldo set a new mark in the final? ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo has scored 16 goals in eleven UEFA Champions League games en route to the final; can he match the record tally of 17 he scored in 2013/14?

Ronaldo finished as the competition's top scorer in 2007/08 (eight goals), 2012/13 (12), 2013/14 (17) and 2014/15, when he tied with Lionel Messi and Neymar on ten. He looks certain to do so for a fifth time, having already become the first player to reach double figures in a UEFA Champions League group stage in the autumn, ending the group stage with 11.

The Portugal captain's 2015/16 total includes three hat-tricks, the most recent of which he registered against Wolfsburg in the quarter-finals. The 31-year-old is the first player to score three trebles in a single UEFA Champions League campaign. Another goal in Milan would also make him the first player to find the net in three UEFA Champions League finals.

Ronaldo also has a clear lead over Messi in the all-time UEFA Champions League scoring charts (93 goals to 83).

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo's semi-final hat-trick
Ronaldo: My Magic Moment
Portugal’s EURO star: Cristiano Ronaldo

Most goals in a UEFA Champions League season
17 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2013/14
16 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2015/16
14 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 2011/12
12 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2012/13
12 Mario Gomez (Bayern München) 2011/12
12 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 2010/11
12 Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 2002/03

UEFA Champions League top scorers by season
: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 10
2013/14: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 17
2012/13: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12
2011/12: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 14
2010/11: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12
2009/10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 8
2008/09: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 9
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) 8
2006/07: Kaká (AC Milan) 10
2005/06: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan) 9
2004/05: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 8
2003/04: Fernando Morientes (Monaco) 9
2002/03: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 12
2001/02: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 10
2000/01: Raúl González (Real Madrid) 7
1999/2000: Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raúl González (Real Madrid) 10
1998/99: Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) 8
1997/98: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) 10
1996/97: Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid) 5
1995/96: Jari Litmanen (Ajax) 9
1994/95: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain FC) 7
1993/94: Ronald Koeman (Barcelona), Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen) 8
1992/93: Romário (PSV Eindhoven) 7

Selected for you