UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Real Madrid extend Spain's European Cup dominance

Real Madrid have claimed Spain's 16th European Cup title, their victory in Milan taking the country four victories clear of Italy and England in the competition's all-time standings.

Spain's European Cup winners ©Getty Images

Spain have continued their dominance of the European Cup, both in recent years and overall, after Real Madrid triumphed in Milan to claim the country's 16th title and third in a row.

The final was an all-Spanish affair, Madrid getting the better of city rivals Atlético on penalties at San Siro, taking Spain's total number of finalists to 27. That moves them level with Italy at the top of the final appearances' list.

Madrid's success marks the third year in a row the trophy has been lifted by a Liga side, following Madrid's 2014 defeat of Atlético and Barcelona's win against Juventus last term. Last season was also the first time the trophy had been won by teams from the same nation two years running in the UEFA Champions League era; that statistic now stands at three.

In terms of the UEFA Champions League (beginning in 1992/93), Spain now have nine victories to Italy's five, with Real Madrid ahead of Barcelona after their record fifth triumph. The Liga has gone ahead of Serie A in number of finalists produced, with 14 coming from Spain and 12 from Italy over the 24 seasons.

European Cup wins by country
Spain 16 (11 runners-up)
Italy 12 (15 runners-up)
England 12 (7 runners-up)
Germany 7 (10 runners-up)
Netherlands 6 (2 runners-up)
Portugal 4 (5 runners-up)
France 1 (5 runners-up)
Scotland 1 (1 runners-up)
Romania 1 (1 runners-up)
Serbia 1 (1 runners-up)
Greece 0 (1 runners-up)
Belgium 0 (1 runners-up)
Sweden 0 (1 runners-up)

UEFA Champions League wins by country
Spain 9 (5 runners-up)
Italy 5 (7 runners-up)
England 4 (5 runners-up)
Germany 3 (5 runners-up)
Netherlands 1 (1 runners-up)
France 1 (1 runners-up)
Portugal 1 (0 runners-up)