UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Heynckes' record UEFA Champions League winning run

Jupp Heynckes has overseen his 11th successive UEFA Champions League win, a competition record.

Highlights: Beşiktaş 1-3 Bayern (1-8 agg)

Jupp Heynckes has broken the record for successive UEFA Champions League wins* as coach after Bayern racked up No11 away to Beşiktaş on Wednesday.

Only two coaches have previously reached double-figures in the competition proper, Louis van Gaal (Barcelona and Bayern, May 2000 to September 2009) and Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid, April 2014 to February 2015). Heynckes moved ahead of them both thanks to a 3-1 triumph in Istanbul.

The 72-year-old's run began in 2012/13, when Bayern won all five matches from the quarter-finals onwards. Heynckes stepped down before returning in October, replacing Ancelotti. The Bavarians have since won six out of six in the competition.

"Managers think differently than the media," former striker Heynckes said of the new mark. "It turns out I had a record of scoring in successive home games, but I only learned about it when Lewandowski came close breaking it. For me, it's about playing good football, seeing my team improve and offering a good spectacle."

Heynckes' UEFA Champions League winning run

Watch Bayern’s 2013 Wembley glory

02/04/2013: Bayern 2-0 Juventus
09/04/2013: Juventus 0-2 Bayern
23/04/2013: Bayern 4-0 Barcelona
01/05/2013: Barcelona 0-3 Bayern
25/05/2013: Dortmund 1-2 Bayern
18/10/2017: Bayern 3-0 Celtic
31/10/2017: Celtic 1-2 Bayern
22/11/2017: Anderlecht 1-2 Bayern
05/12/2017: Bayern 3-1 Paris Saint-Germain
20/02/2018: Bayern 5-0 Beşiktaş
14/03/2018: Beşiktaş 1-3 Bayern

Final record

Heynckes, of course, is no stranger to winning in the UEFA Champions League. This is only his fourth season in the competition – and he could yet end it in a fourth final:

1997/98: Real Madrid, winners
2011/12: Bayern, runners-up
2012/13: Bayern, winners
2017/18: Bayern, ???

*Statistics are for group stage to final only