UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Real Madrid lead 2018/19 Champions League seeds

Three Spanish teams will be seeded for the 2018/19 group stage draw following Real Madrid's victory in Kyiv.

Real Madrid lead  2018/19 Champions League seeds
Real Madrid lead 2018/19 Champions League seeds ©Sportsfile

Real Madrid have further reason to celebrate after earning a place in Pot 1 for the 2018/19 group stage draw.

Pot 1 for 2018/19 group stage draw
Holders: Real Madrid
UEFA Europa League winners: Atlético Madrid
Spain: Barcelona
Germany: Bayern München
England: Manchester City
Italy: Juventus
France: Paris Saint-Germain
Russia: Lokomotiv Moskva

With Barcelona and Manchester City crowned domestic champions in Spain and England respectively, neither of the 2017/18 finalists would have secured a berth in the primary pot through their league position. However, Madrid clinched their spot in Pot 1 thanks to their 3-1 victory in Saturday's showpiece in Kyiv.

New UEFA Champions League format explained

Overall, 26 of the 32 group stage positions are now filled, with the six remaining slots to be decided via qualifying.

Changes to the access list for 2018–21 were announced in August 2016, with the top four clubs from the four top-ranked national associations – Spain, Germany, England and Italy for next season – going straight into the group stage. The champions of the top six associations according to the 2017 coefficients are in Pot 1 together with the holders of the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League.

The remaining three pots will be formed as per the UEFA club coefficient rankings at the end of 2017/18, with the draw for the group stage taking place on 30 August 2018 at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.

Current coefficients of other teams provisionally qualified for group stage

Porto are Portuguese champions
Porto are Portuguese champions©Getty Images

Borussia Dortmund (GER) 89.000
Porto (POR) 86.000
Manchester United (ENG) 82.000
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) 81.000
Napoli (ITA) 78.000
Tottenham Hotspur (ENG) 67.000
Roma (ITA) 64.000
Liverpool (ENG) 62.000
Schalke (GER) 62.000
Lyon (FRA) 59.500
Monaco (FRA) 57.000
CSKA Moskva (RUS) 45.000
Valencia (ESP) 36.000
Viktoria Plzeň (CZE) 33.000
Club Brugge (BEL) 29.500
Galatasaray (TUR) 29.500
Internazionale Milano (ITA) 16.000Hoffenheim (GER) 14.285

Clubs' coefficients are now determined EITHER by the sum of all points won in the previous five years, OR by the association coefficient over the same period – WHICHEVER IS THE HIGHER (under a new system introduced for 2018/19 onwards).

All information and teams subject to final approval from UEFA.

Selected for you