UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Holders Chelsea handed Juventus challenge

Chelsea FC will start their UEFA Champions League title defence against three domestic champions in FC Shakhtar Donetsk, Juventus and FC Nordsjælland after the draw in Monaco.

Holders Chelsea handed Juventus challenge
Holders Chelsea handed Juventus challenge ©UEFA.com

Holders Chelsea FC will meet FC Shakhtar Donetsk, Juventus and FC Nordsjælland in the UEFA Champions League group stage following the draw in Monaco today.

Full fixture list

The top seeds in Group E, Roberto Di Matteo's team claimed the title for the first time in Munich in May and now aim to become the first club to win the competition in successive seasons since AC Milan in 1989 and 1990. They have the added incentive of the final being in London, at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 25 May 2013, while Arsenal FC – in Group A alongside FC Schalke 04, Olympiacos FC and Montpellier Hérault SC – will also hope to prevail in their home city next year.

Group D contains the champions of Spain (Real Madrid CF), England (Manchester City FC), the Netherlands (AFC Ajax) and Germany (Borussia Dortmund). FC Barcelona are in Group G together with SL Benfica, FC Spartak Moskva and Celtic FC. Meanwhile FC Bayern München, runners-up to Chelsea, must overcome Valencia CF, LOSC Lille and FC BATE Borisov to make it through from Group F.

The group stage fixtures will be played on 18/18 September, 2/3 October, 23/24 October, 6/7 November, 20/21 November and 4/5 December. The section winners and runners-up will progress to the round of 16 in the spring. Teams finishing third in each group will transfer to the UEFA Europa League round of 32.

2012/13 UEFA Champions League group stage

Group A
FC Porto (POR)
FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)

Group B
Arsenal FC (ENG)
FC Schalke 04 (GER)
Olympiacos FC (GRE)
Montpellier Hérault (FRA)

Group C
AC Milan (ITA)
FC Zenit St Petersburg (RUS)
RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
Málaga CF (ESP)

Group D
Real Madrid CF (ESP)
Manchester City FC (ENG)
AFC Ajax (NED)
Borussia Dortmund (GER)

Group E
Chelsea FC (ENG, holders)
FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Juventus (ITA)
FC Nordsjælland (DEN)

Group F
FC Bayern München (GER)
Valencia CF (ESP)
LOSC Lille (FRA)
FC BATE Borisov (BLR)

Group G
FC Barcelona (ESP)
SL Benfica (POR)
FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
Celtic FC (SCO)

Group H
Manchester United FC (ENG)
SC Braga (POR)
Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)
CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU)