UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Madrid's European Cup finals

Real Madrid are into a record 13th European Cup final; UEFA.com looks back at the previous 12, including their early dominance and their last of nine wins in 2002.

Real Madrid's previous European Cup finals ©Getty Images

1955/56: Real Madrid CF 4-3 Stade de Reims
In the first European Cup final, Madrid trailed 2-0 inside ten minutes at the Parc des Princes but rallied. Reims went 3-2 up just past the hour only for Manuel Marquitos to quickly level again, leaving Héctor Rial to score the winner 11 minutes from time.

1956/57: Real Madrid CF 2-0 AC Fiorentina
Madrid had home advantage for their second final, and it was a familiar scene at the end of the Santiago Bernabéu showpiece with the 'home' team celebrating again. Their Italian opponents made them work hard for it, but Alfredo Di Stéfano's penalty midway through the second half finally broke their resolve and Paco Gento added a clincher.

1957/58: Real Madrid CF 3-2 AC Milan (aet)
Again Madrid had to come from behind as Milan twice led at the Heysel Stadium. Each time it seemed the Spanish side's grip on the trophy was weakening, goals from Di Stéfano and, with 11 minutes left, Rial levelled matters. The match thus became the first final to go to extra time, where Gento's 107th-minute effort ensured the cup would remain in Madrid.

1958/59: Real Madrid CF 2-0 Stade de Reims
A repeat of the first final ended in the same way – with Madrid parading the trophy. A goal early in each half ended Reims' hopes in Stuttgart's Neckarstadion, Madrid making light of the absence of Ferenc Puskás and an early injury to Raymond Kopa thanks to Enrique Mateos in the first minute and Di Stéfano just after the break.

1959/60: Real Madrid CF 7-3 Eintracht Frankfurt
What proved the last of Madrid's five successive European Cups was the most famous as Eintracht were sublimely swept aside in Glasgow. Puskás became the first player to score a final hat-trick, and went on to claim four goals in all; Di Stéfano made do with three in a dazzling display in front of an enraptured Hampden Park crowd of 127,000.

1961/62: SL Benfica 5-3 Real Madrid CF
Although Madrid's streak of victories finally came to an end in 1959/60 – eliminated in the first round by FC Barcelona – they were back in the final a year later, Puskás notching his second showpiece hat-trick at Amsterdam's Olympisch Stadium. For once, however, he was outdone as Eusébio's two goals helped Benfica retain the trophy.

1963/64: FC Internazionale Milano 3-1 Real Madrid CF
Madrid came up short again two years later, with veterans Di Stéfano and Puskás eclipsed by Inter's Sandro Mazzola at the Praterstadion in Vienna. Mazzola and Aurelio Milani gave Madrid a two-goal cushion and, though Felo pulled one back, Mazzola's second of the evening made the game safe.

1965/66: Real Madrid CF 2-1 FK Partizan
Partizan became the first eastern European team to reach the final but Madrid proved too strong in Brussels. It looked like it would be a different story as Velibor Vasović gave the Yugoslavian side the lead, but goals in the final 20 minutes from Amancio Amaro and Fernando Serena ensured Madrid – captained by Gento, in his sixth final – took the trophy again.

1980/81: Liverpool FC 1-0 Real Madrid CF
In contrast to their early dominance of the competition, Madrid had to wait 15 years for their next final appearance. This time the Parce des Princes did not prove a happy hunting ground, Alan Kennedy's late goal ensuring Liverpool continued England's European Cup purple patch.

1997/98: Real Madrid CF 1-0 Juventus
Again Madrid had to endure a lengthy wait before returning to the final, making their first appearance of the UEFA Champions League era at the Amsterdam ArenA. One goal proved enough for a seventh crown, Predrag Mijatović scoring midway through the second half to claim 'La Séptima'.

1999/2000: Real Madrid CF 3-0 Valencia CF
Having waited 32 years for their seventh title, just two years later Madrid made it eight in the first European Cup final between teams from the same country. Fernando Morientes headed them in front at the Stade de France just before half-time, and second-half goals from Steve McManaman and Raúl González ended Valencia's challenge.

2001/02: Real Madrid CF 2-1 Bayer 04 Leverkusen
Back at the scene of their most famous European Cup triumph, Hampden Park, Madrid claimed the crown again for a third triumph in five years. Raúl became the first player to score in two UEFA Champions League finals early on and, though Lúcio quickly equalised, Zinédine Zidane's iconic volley proved a fitting winner.

Selected for you