UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

How UEFA honours multiple European Cup winners

Liverpool and Real Madrid both have a UEFA badge of honour for their European Cup successes – how does the system work?

Bayern München's badge of honour
Bayern München's badge of honour ©Getty Images

Real Madrid and Liverpool can both further embellish their UEFA badge of honour with victory in the UEFA Champions League final.

All you need to know about the UEFA Champions League trophy

What is a UEFA badge of honour?

Clubs who win a fifth European Cup/UEFA Champions League title or three in a row for the first time receive a badge of honour. Provided by the UEFA administration and added to the left sleeve of the club's shirt, the badge features an image of the European Cup. Usually inscribed inside is the number of times that club have won the trophy. Barcelona in 2015 became the latest side to receive a badge of honour, joining Real Madrid, AC Milan, Bayern, Liverpool and Ajax as recipients. Since then, Real Madrid have twice had their badge upgraded – the current one bearing the number 12.

2017 final highlights: Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus

Clubs who have won five or more European Cups

12 Real Madrid
7 AC Milan
5 Barcelona, Bayern München, Liverpool

Clubs with three or more consecutive European Cup/UEFA Champions League wins

5 Real Madrid (1956–1960)
3= Ajax (1971–1973)
3= Bayern München (1974–1976)

Do teams still get to keep the trophy?

Highlights of Real Madrid's 2016 triumph

A rule introduced in 1968/69 stipulated that the European Cup became the property of any club who won the competition five times or three years in a row (after which they began a new cycle at zero). However, the regulation (article 11.1) was changed ahead of 2008/09 and now reads …

"The original trophy, which is used for the official presentation ceremony at the final and at other official events approved by UEFA, remains in UEFA's keeping and ownership at all times. A full-size replica trophy, the UEFA Champions League winners' trophy, is awarded to the winning club."

Under the old system, five clubs were presented with the main trophy used at the time and therefore have original European Cups in their possession.

Real Madrid – awarded the original trophy (old design) in 1967
Ajax (third title in a row, 1973)
Bayern München (third title in a row, 1976)
AC Milan (fifth title, 1994)
Liverpool (fifth title, 2005)