UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Champions League squad of the season

Seven Real Madrid CF players have been selected in the UEFA technical study group's 18-man UEFA Champions League squad for the 2013/14 campaign.

UEFA Champions League squad of the season ©UEFA.com

The UEFA technical study group (TSG) has included seven players from winners Real Madrid CF in their best squad of the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League. The TSG has chosen 18 players – the same number a coach selects for a UEFA Champions League game under the competition's regulations – in their squad. There is no designated starting XI.

Madrid conceded just eight goals in 13 UEFA Champions League fixtures this term, so it is no surprise that three of the five defenders named – Daniel Carvajal, Pepe and Sergio Ramos – play for the Merengues. The quintet is completed by Diego Godín, a runner-up with Club Atlético de Madrid, and FC Bayern München's Philipp Lahm, protecting goalkeepers Thibaut Courtois and Manuel Neuer.

A further three Madrid men feature in the midfield lineup – Ángel Di María, Luka Modrić and Xabi Alonso – alongside Bayern's Toni Kroos, FC Barcelona maestro Andrés Iniesta and Atlético captain Gabi, whose team-mate Diego Costa, scorer of eight goals, makes the cut among five forwards. Cristiano Ronaldo, who registered a season-record 17 goals in the campaign, is joined by Marco Reus, Arjen Robben and Zlatan Ibrahimović.

The TSG convened after the UEFA Champions League final to discuss the decider itself, trends in the knockout rounds, this squad and the best goals of the competition. UEFA coaching ambassador Sir Alex Ferguson and UEFA's chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu chaired the meeting. Also present were Mircea Lucescu, Roy Hodgson, Thomas Schaaf and Fernando Hierro. The TSG's technical report will be published in September.

Technical team selection
Thibaut Courtois (Club Atlético de Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München)

Diego Godín (Club Atlético de Madrid)
Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München)
Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid CF)
Pepe (Real Madrid CF)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF)

Gabi (Club Atlético de Madrid)
Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona)
Toni Kroos (FC Bayern München)
Ángel Di María (Real Madrid CF)
Luka Modrić (Real Madrid CF)
Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid CF)

Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund)
Diego Costa (Club Atlético de Madrid)
Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint Germain FC)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF)

Selected for you