UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Barcelona break new ground with second treble

FC Barcelona have completed the eighth 'treble' of European Cup plus domestic league and cup, becoming the first club to achieve the historic feat twice.

Luis Enrique has won the treble in his first season as Barcelona coach
Luis Enrique has won the treble in his first season as Barcelona coach ©Getty Images

FC Barcelona have wrapped up the eighth 'treble' of European Cup plus domestic league and cup and can pride themselves on being the first to achieve the feat twice after denying Juventus their own trio of trophies.

Both clubs began the UEFA Champions League final in Berlin hoping to add to their league and cup wins in 2014/15, and it was Barcelona who eventually prevailed – repeating their achievement of 2008/09, when they became the only Spanish team to take all three titles. The Catalan giants have thus set a new benchmark, Luis Enrique's men having topped the Liga standings ahead of Real Madrid CF and lifted the Copa del Rey against Athletic Club last month. UEFA.com now looks at the seven previous sides to claim memorable trebles.

Celtic FC: 1966/67
No one, not even the great Real Madrid CF team that won the first five European Cups, could complete a treble in the competition's opening decade – Madrid having not completed their maiden domestic double until 1961/62. But in 1967 Celtic travelled to Lisbon with the Scottish League and Cup in their trophy cabinet, and defeated Inter 2-1. In the same season Celtic also lifted the Scottish League Cup and Glasgow Cup, all with a team born within 40km of Glasgow.

AFC Ajax: 1971/72
Inter were again the final victims as Ajax successfully defended the European Cup with a 2-0 win in Rotterdam courtesy of two Johan Cruyff goals. Cruyff had also managed 25 of Ajax's 104 Eredivisie goals and two weeks before the European Cup concluded, was on target as they defeated FC Den Haag in the Dutch Cup final, which like the continental decider was at Feijenoord Stadion.

PSV Eindhoven: 1987/88
The third treble, like the second, was completed by a Dutch club. Guus Hiddink's PSV had an even more spectacular domestic season than Ajax in 1971/72, scoring 117 goals in topping a third consecutive Eredivisie, and the Dutch Cup final scoreline was also 3-2, this time against Roda JC. However, after 120 minutes their European Cup final against SL Benfica in Stuttgart was goalless but PSV converted all six of their penalties to win the shoot-out 6-5 when António Veloso was denied by Hans van Breukelen.

Manchester United FC: 1998/99**
The first team to do the treble in the UEFA Champions League era were also the first to win the competition having entered as neither holders nor domestic title winners. Despite their Premier League dominance under Sir Alex Ferguson, United had tended to underperform in the UEFA Champions League. However, as they picked up both domestic trophies they made their first European Cup final since 1968, squeezing through the group stage as a best runner-up and making a stunning comeback in the second leg of their semi at Juventus.

Without Roy Keane and Paul Scholes through suspension, United trailed the Barcelona final against FC Bayern München from the sixth minute until added time, when substitutes Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjær turned the game in unforgettable fashion.

FC Barcelona: 2008/09**
A decade on from United completing the treble in Barcelona, the Blaugrana matched their feat against the Red Devils. Sir Alex had been in charge of United for 13 years in 1999 but this time lost out to a coach in his first season, Josep Guardiola. He had already led Barcelona to the double when they travelled to Rome to play holders United, and goals from Samuel Eto'o and Lionel Messi ensured Barcelona's clean sweep.

FC Internazionale Milano: 2009/10*
There was not long to wait for the next treble, and Eto'o was also part of it having switched from Barcelona to Inter in the summer of 2009. The Nerazzurri won the Coppa Italia 1-0 against AS Roma at Stadio Olimpico with a Diego Milito goal and less than two weeks later he was on target again in a 1-0 victory at AC Siena that pipped the Giallorossi to the Serie A title on the final day. All that remained for José Mourinho's team was the UEFA Champions League final six days later in Madrid, against a Bayern side also able to complete a treble. Milito was again the hero with both goals in a 2-0 victory.

FC Bayern München: 2012/13**
Just like Inter, Bayern had now been the victim in two treble-clinching finals. They got one of their own in incredible style, setting a points record of 91 and a record margin of 25 in winning the Bundesliga, which they did with six games to spare. They were top after every matchday, with a record number of victories, fewest defeats and highest goal difference.

Bayern won all six of their German Cup fixtures, though the final on 1 June against VfB Stuttgart was actually a week after they faced Borussia Dortmund at Wembley for the UEFA Champions League title. It was close, but a late Arjen Robben goal was enough for a 2-1. They then beat Stuttgart 3-2 in Berlin as Jupp Heynckes joined a treble-claiming coaching roll of honour alongside Jock Stein, Ștefan Kovács, Hiddink, Ferguson, Mourinho and Guardiola. Who will be next?

*Also won UEFA Super Cup
**Also won UEFA Super Cup & FIFA Club World Cup

• Five clubs have also won the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League in the same season as a domestic double – Porto doing so twice, including once under Mourinho in 2002/03.

IFK Göteborg: 1981/82 (Swedish season 1982)
Galatasaray AŞ: 1999/2000*
FC Porto: 2002/03
PFC CSKA Moskva: 2004/05 (Russian season 2005)
FC Porto: 2010/11

*Also won UEFA Super Cup

• No club ever managed to win the European Cup Winners' Cup in the same season as a domestic double.