UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Holders Inter face Bayern in final rematch

FC Internazionale Milano have been paired with the side they beat in last season's final, FC Bayern München, in the round of 16 while 2009 winners FC Barcelona play Arsenal FC again.

Holders Inter face Bayern in final rematch
Holders Inter face Bayern in final rematch ©UEFA.com

Holders FC Internazionale Milano will continue their UEFA Champions League title defence against FC Bayern München in a repeat of last season's final after the round of 16 draw was made in Nyon, Switzerland.

Rafael Benítez's side finished second in Group A and their reward is a tie against Group E winners Bayern, the team they beat 2-0 in Madrid to claim their third European crown seven months ago, thanks to two goals from Diego Milito.

There will also be a rematch of the 2006 showpiece as FC Barcelona were again paired with Arsenal FC, whom they eliminated in the quarter-finals last time around – Lionel Messi scoring all four Blaugrana goals in the second leg. Real Madrid CF, who have lost in the last 16 for six successive seasons, take on the club that knocked them out in 2009/10, Olympique Lyonnais – the French outfit having reached the semi-finals for the first time last term.

Seven-time European champions AC Milan will face debutants Tottenham Hotspur FC while French title holders Olympique de Marseille were pitted with Manchester United FC, winners in 2008 and finalists the following year. Valencia CF, runners-up in 2000 and 2001, tackle FC Schalke 04 while Chelsea FC will encounter FC København, the first Danish team to progress from the group stage. FC Shakhtar Donetsk, also making their maiden appearance in the round of 16, play AS Roma.

The first legs will take place on 15/16 and 22/23 February, with the returns on 8/9 and 15/16 March.

Round of 16 draw
AS Roma (ITA) v FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
AC Milan (ITA) v Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
Valencia CF (ESP) v FC Schalke 04 (GER)
FC Internazionale Milano (ITA) v FC Bayern München (GER)
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) v Real Madrid CF (ESP)
Arsenal FC (ENG) v FC Barcelona (ESP)
Olympique de Marseille (FRA) v Manchester United FC (ENG)
FC København (DEN) v Chelsea FC (ENG)

Selected for you