UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Club World Cup: Firmino wins final for Liverpool

European champions Liverpool have won their first global title, beating Flamengo 1-0 in the FIFA Club World Cup final.

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson lifts the FIFA Club World Cup
Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson lifts the FIFA Club World Cup ©Getty Images

Liverpool have become the seventh different European winners of the FIFA Club World Cup after beating Flamengo 1-0 following extra time in Qatar.

Jürgen Klopp's side began their campaign with a 2-1 win against Monterrey of Mexico in Wednesday's semi-final, Roberto Firmino scoring a late winner after Naby Keïta's first-half opener had been quickly cancelled out. And it was Firmino who struck against his fellow Brazilians in the 99th minute of the decider, giving Liverpool their first global trophy.

Roberto Firmino celebrates his late winner for Liverpool in the semi-finals
Roberto Firmino celebrates his late winner for Liverpool in the semi-finals©Getty Images

Liverpool, who claimed their sixth European Cup in June, lost in 1-0 to São Paulo in their previous Club World Cup final in Yokohama 14 years ago. They had also lost their two European/South American Cup appearances, to Argentina's Independiente in 1984, and three years earlier against their opponents today, Flamengo.

See how Liverpool earned their Club World Cup spot

European sides have now won the last seven editions of the Club World Cup, Real Madrid having capped each of their four recent UEFA Champions League titles by lifting this trophy too to overtake Barcelona's previous record of three triumphs.

FIFA Club World Cup roll of honour

Real Madrid 4 (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Corinthians 2 (2000, 2012)
AC Milan 1 (2007)
Bayern München 1 (2013)
Internacional 1 (2006)
Internazionale Milano 1 (2010)
Liverpool 1 (2019)
Manchester United 1 (2008)
São Paulo 1 (2005)

Most overall World club titles*

AC Milan celebrate their 2007 Club World Cup win
AC Milan celebrate their 2007 Club World Cup win©Getty Images

Real Madrid 7 (1960, 1998, 2002; 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
AC Milan 4 (1969, 1989, 1990; 2007)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Bayern München 3 (1976, 2001; 2013)
Boca Juniors 3 (1977, 2000, 2003)
Internazionale Milano 3 (1964, 1965; 2010)
Nacional 3 (1971, 1980, 1988)
Peñarol 3 (1961, 1966, 1982)
São Paulo 3 (1992, 1993; 2005)

*European/South American Cup plus FIFA Club World Cup

Club World Cup winners by nation

7: Spain
4: Brazil
2: England, Italy
1: Germany

European sides' Club World Cup scorers

7: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Real Madrid)

6: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Luis Suárez enjoys a goal in the 2015 edition
Luis Suárez enjoys a goal in the 2015 edition©Getty Images

5: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luis Suárez (Barcelona)

3: Nicolas Anelka (Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2: Adriano (Barcelona), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Quinton Fortune (Manchester United), Raúl González (Real Madrid), Filippo Inzaghi (AC Milan), Pedro Rodríguez (Barcelona), own goals

1: Jonathan Biabiany (Internazionale), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Nicky Butt (Manchester United), Dante (Bayern München), Deco (Barcelona), Samuel Eto'o (Internazionale), Cesc Fàbregas (Barcelona), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United), Geremi (Real Madrid), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Mario Götze (Bayern München), Eidur Gudjohnsen (Barcelona), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Fernando Hierro (Real Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid), Kaká (AC Milan), Naby Keïta (Liverpool), Seydou Keita (Barcelona), Marcos Llorente (Real Madrid), Mario Mandžukić (Bayern München), Rafael Márquez (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Maxwell (Barcelona), Diego Milito (Internazionale), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Fernando Morientes (Real Madrid), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan), Goran Pandev (Internazionale), Franck Ribéry (Bayern München), Ronaldinho (Barcelona), Sávio (Real Madrid), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Dejan Stanković (Internazionale), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern München), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidić (Manchester United), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Javier Zanetti (Internazionale)

Selected for you