UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Champions League top scorer: five-goal Haller leads the way

Sébastien Haller has taken an early lead in the race to be this season's UEFA Champions League top goalscorer.

Sébastien Haller has hit the ground running in the UEFA Champions League
Sébastien Haller has hit the ground running in the UEFA Champions League Getty Images

Sébastien Haller is making the early running for the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League's top scorer honour after notching five goals in two games.

Four of those came in Ajax's 5-1 victory at Sporting CP on Matchday 1, making the 27-year-old the first player to score four times on his Champions League debut since Marco van Basten in 1992. He then followed up with an effort to help Ajax defeat Beşiktaş 2-0, becoming the first player to manage five goals in his first two outings in the competition.

Two men are hot on Haller's heels after Robert Lewandowski moved level with Christopher Nkunku on four goals courtesy of a double in Bayern's 3-0 success against Dynamo Kyiv. Nkunku's own haul began with a consolation hat-trick in Leipzig's 6-3 defeat at Manchester City, followed by the early opener in Leipzig's 2-1 loss to Club Brugge.

Next in the pecking order is Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, whose Matchday 2 double against Porto meant he has scored in six of his last seven Champions League contests.

2021/22 UEFA Champions League top scorers

5 Sébastien Haller (Ajax)
4 Robert Lewandowski (Bayern)
Christopher Nkunku (Leipzig)
3 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Man. United)
Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge)
Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
Ivan Rakitić (Sevilla)
Darwin Nuñez (Benfica)
Karim Adeyemi (Salzburg)
Steven Berghuis (Ajax)

2021/22 Champions League stats

UEFA Champions League top scorers by season (group stage to final)

UEFA Forward of the Season 2020/21 - Erling Haaland
UEFA Forward of the Season 2020/21 - Erling Haaland

2020/21: Erling Haaland (Dortmund) 10
: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) 15
2018/19: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12
2017/18: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 15
2016/17: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12
2015/16: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 16
2014/15: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 10
2013/14: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 17
2012/13: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12
2011/12: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 14
2010/11: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12

2009/10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 8
2008/09: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 9
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) 8
2006/07: Kaká (AC Milan) 10
2005/06: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan) 9
2004/05: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 8
2003/04: Fernando Morientes (Monaco) 9
2002/03: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 12
2001/02: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 10
2000/01: Raúl González (Real Madrid) 7

1999/00: Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raúl González (Real Madrid) 10
1998/99: Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) 8
1997/98: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) 10
1996/97: Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid) 5
1995/96: Jari Litmanen (Ajax) 9
1994/95: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain) 7
1993/94: Hristo Stoichkov (Barcelona) 5
1992/93: Franck Sauzée (Marseille) 5

All-time Champions League stats