UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Carlo Ancelotti wins UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award

The man who guided Real Madrid to a 14th UEFA Champions League title has won the 2021/22 UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award ahead of Jürgen Klopp and Josep Guardiola.

Carlo Ancelotti: Men's Coach Of The Year 2021/22

Real Madrid's Carlo Ancelotti has been named UEFA Men's Coach of the Year for 2021/22.

The 63-year-old finished well clear of Jürgen Klopp and Josep Guardiola to become the first non-German winner of an award now in its third year. The award was announced during the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Istanbul.

The top six

1 Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid) – 526 points
2 Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) – 210 points
3 Josep Guardiola (Manchester City) – 108 points
4 Oliver Glasner (Eintracht Frankfurt) – 75 points
5 Unai Emery (Villarreal) – 74 points
6 José Mourinho (Roma) – 51 points

Award-winner Carlo Ancelotti on 'fantastic season'

Why did Ancelotti win the award?

The Italian returned to the club last summer and won the Spanish Liga before becoming the first coach to win the European Cup/Champions League for a fourth time after leading Madrid to glory in the 2022 final in Paris.

What is the UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award?

For this award, coaches in Europe, irrespective of nationality, have been judged in regard to their impact over the whole season in all competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club, or national team level.

Every Real Madrid Champions League goal this season

How was he chosen?

An initial shortlist of six coaches was selected by UEFA’s technical study group.

The top three nominees were voted by a jury comprising the following:

• The clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League

• A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM)

Jury members chose their top three coaches, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for themselves.

Download the official app!

Other award winners

Men's Player of the Year: Karim Benzema
Women's Player of the Year: Alexia Putellas
Women's Coach of the Year: Sarina Wiegman
President's Award: Arrigo Sacchi

Last year's winner

Thomas Tuchel won the 2020/21 UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award after orchestrating a sensational turnaround at Chelsea. He replaced Frank Lampard on 26 January and led the west London side to their second Champions League title, becoming the first coach to reach successive finals with different clubs having been a runner-up with Paris in 2019/20.