UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Champions League first qualifying round draw

The 2023/24 UEFA Champions League first qualifying round draw took place on 20 June.

The 2023/24 UEFA Champions League first qualifying round draw took place on Tuesday 20 June at the House of European football in Nyon.

The two-legged first qualifying round ties will take place on 11/12 and 18/19 July.

First qualifying round draw (seeded teams in bold)

Group 1

Häcken (SWE) vs The New Saints (WAL)
Ballkani (KOS) vs Ludogorets (BUL)
Shamrock Rovers (IRL) vs Breidablik (ISL)
Žalgiris Vilnius (LTU) vs Struga (MKD)
KÍ Klaksvík (FRO) vs Ferencváros (HUN)

Group 2

Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN) vs Valmiera (LVA)
HJK Helsinki (FIN) vs Larne (NIR)
Lincoln Red Imps (GIB) vs Qarabağ (AZE) *
Raków Czestochowa (POL) vs Flora Tallinn (EST) *
Slovan Bratislava (SVK) vs Swift Hesper (LUX)

Group 3

Farul Constanța (ROU) vs Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA)
Hamrun Spartans (MLT) vs Maccabi Haifa (ISR)
Urartu (ARM) vs Zrinjski (BIH)
Partizani (ALB) vs BATE Borisov (BLR)
Astana (KAZ) vs Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)

* defeated sides go to UEFA Europa Conference League third qualifying round (Champions Path)

Conditions of the draw

In accordance with paragraphs 13.03 and 13.04 of the Regulations of the UEFA Champions League 2023/24, the UEFA administration formed groups and seeded clubs for the first qualifying round draw based on the club rankings established at the beginning of the season and the principles set by the Club Competitions Committee.

The 30 teams (29 that enter the competition at this stage and the winner of the preliminary round, indicated for the purposes of this draw as Winners of the preliminary round) were divided into three groups of ten teams (Groups 1 to 3).

Within each of the three groups, the teams were divided into an equal number of seeded and unseeded teams (five seeded and five unseeded teams in each group).

Any changes of date and fixture reversals will be communicated in writing to your club and national association by 20:00 CET on 20 June.

Draw procedure

Three bowls were prepared for the draw, with the balls containing the names of the seeded and unseeded teams from Group 1 placed in the corresponding marked bowls.

One ball was then taken from each of these bowls and placed in the third empty central bowl, where they were shuffled. The first team drawn from this bowl was then considered the home team for the first tie, and would play against the second team drawn.

The procedure was then carried out with the remaining balls to complete all the pairings for the first group. The same procedure was then repeated to determine the pairings for the second and the third groups.


Group 1

Ferencváros (HUN)
Ludogorets (BUL)
Žalgiris Vilnius (LTU)
Shamrock Rovers (IRL)
The New Saints (WAL)

KÍ Klaksvík (FRO)
Winners of preliminary round (Breidablik (ISL))
Häcken (SWE)
Ballkani (KOS)
Struga (MKD)

Group 2

Qarabağ (AZE)
Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
HJK Helsinki (FIN)
Flora Tallinn (EST)
Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN)

Lincoln Red Imps (GIB)
Raków Czestochowa (POL)
Valmiera (LVA)
Larne (NIR)
Swift Hesper (LUX)

Group 3

Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA)
BATE Borisov (BLR)
Astana (KAZ)
Maccabi Haifa (ISR)
Zrinjski (BIH)

Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)
Partizani (ALB)
Farul Constanța (ROU)
Urartu (ARM)
Hamrun Spartans (MLT)

Champions League qualifying dates

21 June Second qualifying round draw
27 June Preliminary round semi-finals
30 June Preliminary round final
11/12 July First qualifying round first legs
18/19 July First qualifying round second legs
24 July Third qualifying round draw
25/26 July Second qualifying round first legs
1/2 August Second qualifying round second legs
7 August Play-off round draw
8/9 August Third qualifying round first legs
15 August Third qualifying round second legs
22/23 August Play-off round first legs
29/30 August Play-off round second legs
31 August Group stage draw