Сумасшествие в Манчестере

Фернандо Льоренте решил исход искрометного поединка в Манчестере.

Watch all the drama from an incredible night as Tottenham made it into the last four following a breathless match.

Обзор матча

По итогам сумасшедшего матча на "Сити оф Манчестер" путевка в полуфинал досталась "Тоттенхэму". "Шпоры" попали в четверку сильнейших впервые с сезона 1961/62.

Начало матча получилось сверхрезультативным. Команды забили рекордно быстрые пять голов. Рахим Стерлинг за первую 21 минуту отметился дублем, сначала открыв счет, а затем сделав его 3:2. Сон Хын Мин забил два мяча с четырехминутным интервалом. Бернарду Силва на непродолжительное время восстановил равновесие.

Сон Хын Мин отметился дублем
Сон Хын Мин отметился дублем©AFP/Getty Images

Юго Льорис отразил пушечный удар Кевина де Брейне, а Эдерсон в дебюте второго тайма не дал отличиться Фернандо Льоренте. Затем "Сити" впервые вышел вперед по сумме двух матчей - четвертый гол "горожан" забил Серхио Агуэро. "Шпоры" продолжили бороться, и Льоренте переправил мяч в ворота после подачи Кирана Триппьера с углового, забив, как оказалось, последний и решающий гол в этом невероятном матче.

Мнение репортера: Саймон Харт

Невероятно, феерично, этот матч войдет в историю. "Сити" вновь показал, как умеет атаковать. Но дальше пробился "Тоттенхэм", не игравший в полуфиналах Кубка чемпионов с 1962 года. Сумасшествие на встречных курсах началось с гола Стерлинга на четвертой минуте - первого из пяти мячей за стартовую 21 минуту.

Стерлинг дважды выводил ''Сити'' вперед
Стерлинг дважды выводил ''Сити'' вперед©AFP/Getty Images

Дубль Сона вывел вперед "Тоттенхэм", однако с разыгравшимся де Брейне было очевидно, что "Сити" последнего слова еще не сказал. Когда Агуэро забил четвертый гол хозяев, показалось, что манкунианцы в полуфинале. Но "шпоры" преградили Гвардиоле и Ко путь к мечте как минимум на год.

Лучший игрок матча: Сон Хын Мин

Сон стал не только ключевым игроком матча, но и всего противостояния. Его игра - особенно в первой половине этой сумасшедшей встречи - задала тон всем действиям "шпор". Возможно, с первым голом ему повезло, но второй стал результатом великолепного обводящего удара. В отсутствие Гарри Кейна он вел за собой атаку "Тоттенхэма" и забивал важнейшие голы. Его жест в направлении скамейки запасных после второго гола подчеркнул, насколько это важно для него. И сколько это значит для клуба, который Сон вывел в первый полуфинал в эпоху Лиги чемпионов УЕФА.

Ключевая статистика

6: В последних шести случаях, когда "Сити" уступал в первом матче плей-офф на выезде, он не проходил дальше.

7: "Тоттенхэм" стал седьмым английским клубом, пробившимся в полуфинал Лиги чемпионов. Англия побила рекорд Испании.

Простое лондонское счастье
Простое лондонское счастье©Getty Images

18: После домашней победы в первом матче "шпоры" пробивались дальше в еврокубках в 18 из 20 случаев.

20: "Тоттенхэм" забивает в 20 матчах Лиги чемпионов подряд.

98: В 26 домашних матчах этого сезона "Сити" забил 98 мячей.

Что это значит?

"Тоттенхэм" вышел в полуфинал Кубка чемпионов во второй раз в истории. Впервые "шпоры" это сделали 57 лет назад. "Сити" во втором розыгрыше Лиги чемпионов кряду вылетает от английской команды. За место в финале команда Маурисио Почеттино поспорит с "Аяксом". Первый матч в Лондоне состоится 30 апреля или 1 мая, а ответный - в Амстердаме неделю спустя.

Обзор первого матча
Обзор первого матча

Что дальше?

Два ближайших матча "Сити" могут оказаться решающими для защиты чемпионского титула. В субботу манкунианцы снова примут "Тоттенхэм", а в следующую среду отправятся в гости к "Манчестер Юнайтед".

"Тоттенхэм" продолжает борьбу с "МЮ", "Арсеналом" и "Челси" за третье и четвертое места в чемпионате, которые гарантируют путевку в Лигу чемпионов. Три из четырех оставшихся туров премьер-лиги после очередного визита к "Сити" лондонцы проведут дома.

Наверх

Man. City 4-3 Tottenham: Champions League at a glance

Fernando Llorente's strike proved decisive as Spurs edged a pulsating tie on away goals.

Watch all the drama from an incredible night as Tottenham made it into the last four following a breathless match.

All you need to know in 60 seconds ...

Tottenham reached the last four of this competition for the first time since 1961/62 on a thrilling night at the City of Manchester Stadium.

An astonishing start spawned the quickest five goals in a match in UEFA Champions League history with the lead changing hands twice. Raheem Sterling produced two clinical finishes to put City 1-0 and 3-2 up, the latter after Heung-Min Son had struck twice in four minutes to give Tottenham a 2-1 advantage. Bernardo Silva's deflected effort within a minute restored parity.

Son scored twice in the first half for Spurs
Son scored twice in the first half for Spurs©AFP/Getty Images

Hugo Lloris denied Kevin De Bruyne and Ederson repelled substitute Fernando Llorente's header early in the second half, before City took the lead for the first time in the tie when Sergio Agüero rifled in their fourth. Spurs did not buckle, though, and Llorente diverted Kieran Trippier's corner past Ederson to settle a sensational game.

View from the stadium: Simon Hart

It was thrilling, it was breathless, it was a night nobody here will forget. It showcased City's attacking brilliance – and yet at the end of it, Tottenham are the team who can look forward to their first European Cup semi-final since 1962. The end-to-end drama began with a magnificent Sterling goal inside four minutes, the first of five goals in the first 21 minutes.

Sterling gave City the lead twice in the first half
Sterling gave City the lead twice in the first half©AFP/Getty Images

Son's double swung the tie one way but with De Bruyne pulling the strings you felt it was not over. It looked like being City's night when Agüero smashed in their fourth goal; yet Spurs delivered the sting in the tail and Guardiola's side's pursuit of this trophy must go on.

Man of the match: Heung-Min Son

Spurs revel in their progression
Spurs revel in their progression©Getty Images

Not just the key player in Manchester but across the tie, Son's display here – particularly in that madcap first half – set the tone for Tottenham. The forward's first goal may have relied on an element of fortune, but his second was a magnificent curling strike; Son also led the line relentlessly throughout and provided the crucial goals in the absence of Harry Kane. His fist-pump to the bench following his second here underlined just how much this meant to the Korean – and how much it means to the club he has fired to a maiden UEFA Champions League semi-final.

Key stats

6: City have lost their last six UEFA ties in which they lost the away first leg.

7: Tottenham are the seventh English club to reach the #UCL semi-finals, with England overtaking Spain as the competition's most successful country in this respect.

18: Spurs have won 18 of the 20 UEFA ties in which they won the home first leg.

Son: Spurs aren't finished yet
Son: Spurs aren't finished yet

20: Tottenham have scored in their last 20 UEFA Champions League matches.

98: City have scored a total of 98 goals during their 26 competitive home games this season.

What does it mean?

Tottenham reach the semi-finals for the second time in their history – after a 57-year wait – while City are eliminated by a Premier League opponent for the second season in a row. Ajax await Mauricio Pochettino's men, the first leg taking place in London on either 30 April or 1 May with the return a week later.

First-leg highlights
First-leg highlights

What's next?

City's next two fixtures could prove pivotal as they seek to retain the English title. They host Spurs again on Saturday before a visit to arch-rivals Manchester United on Wednesday evening.

Tottenham remain in a four-horse race to finish third or fourth in the league and secure a place back in this competition next term. Following the trip to City, three of their remaining four Premier League contests are at home.

Top