UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sevilla make it four three-time winners

Only Juventus, FC Internazionale Milano and Liverpool FC had won three UEFA Cups, Sevilla FC swelling the threesome to four with victory against SL Benfica in Turin.

Coach Giovanni Trapattoni is held aloft after Juventus win the 1992/93 UEFA Cup
Coach Giovanni Trapattoni is held aloft after Juventus win the 1992/93 UEFA Cup ©Getty Images

Sevilla FC have become the fourth side to lift the UEFA Cups/UEFA Europa League trophy on three occasions with a penalty shoot-out victory against SL Benfica in Turin.

UEFA Cup champions in 2005/06 and 2006/07 under Juande Ramos, the Spanish contenders have become just the second team to win all three of their finals – and the second, after FC Porto, to land the silverware in both of this competition's two incarnations. Final hosts Juventus are also in this exclusive club.

1976/77, 1989/90, 1992/93
Having spent the bulk of his playing and coaching careers at AC Milan, Giovanni Trapattoni took charge of Juventus in summer 1976 – aged 37. His first season brought the Serie A title and an away goals victory over Athletic Club in the UEFA Cup final; relief for Juve who had lost twice in the final of the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup, the non-UEFA affiliated precursor to the UEFA Cup and UEFA Europa League.

Roberto Bettega's away goal in Bilbao proved decisive in that first final, while the second – under Dino Zoff, Juventus's goalkeeper in the 1977 showpiece – was less tense, ACF Fiorentina unable to recover from a 3-1 first-leg defeat in Turin as the return ended 0-0. The first instalment of the 1993 decider also finished 3-1 – only here Juve won away, at Borussia Dortmund – the returning Trapattoni marshalling his all-star side to a 3-0 success in the sequel in northern Italy. However, Dino Baggio – who had scored in each leg against Dortmund – would deny Juve a fourth win, in the 1995 final, striking in either fixture as Parma FC beat the Bianconeri 1-0 at home, then drew 1-1 away.

Mr UEFA Cup - Giuseppe Bergomi with the trophy in 1991
Mr UEFA Cup - Giuseppe Bergomi with the trophy in 1991©Getty Images

FC Internazionale Milano
1990/91, 1993/94, 1997/98
Italian teams utterly dominated the UEFA Cup in the 1990s – seven of the winners and six of the runners-up from 1990 to 1999 were from Serie A, with Inter the absolute masters with three final triumphs and one defeat in the space of seven years. Tellingly, Inter defender Giuseppe Bergomi (96) and goalkeeper Walter Zenga (69) are first and third respectively on the competition's all-time appearance list.

Under Trapattoni – on his way to becoming the sole coach to lift the UEFA Cup three times – Inter got the better of AS Roma in the 1991 showpiece, a Lothar Matthäus penalty and a Nicola Berti strike in a 2-0 first-leg victory sufficient to quell their opponents, who could not add to Ruggiero Rizzitelli's 81st-minute goal in the return fixture. They then beat FC Salzburg 1-0 away and at home in the 1994 decider, but – under Englishman Roy Hodgson – lost on penalties to FC Schalke 04 in the 1997 final. Amends were made 12 months later with a 3-0 success over SS Lazio in Paris in the first one-legged UEFA Cup final, Iván Zamorano scoring in his second straight final.

Bill Shankly at Liverpool in 1973
Bill Shankly at Liverpool in 1973©Getty Images

Liverpool FC
1972/73, 1975/76, 2000/01
The one club among the three-time winners never to have lost a UEFA Cup final, Liverpool's first victory brought them their only European trophy under legendary manager Bill Shankly. Their first leg against VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach was abandoned after 27 minutes due to torrential rain at Anfield and replayed the next day – Kevin Keegan netting twice, and missing a penalty, in a 3-0 triumph. The tie was almost turned on its head when Jupp Heynckes struck twice in the first half in Germany, but the Reds regained their composure after the break to prevent a comeback.

Under Bob Paisley, Liverpool went 2-0 down at home to Club Brugge KV inside 15 minutes of the home leg of the 1976 final, yet prevailed 3-2 with Keegan's 65th-minute spot kick their third goal in the space of six minutes. He struck again in the return match as a 1-1 draw completed the win. The Merseysiders' last UEFA Cup success came 25 years later in Dortmund, though final debutants Deportivo Alavés repeatedly defied Gérard Houllier's team. It was 4-4 after 115 minutes when Delfí Geli headed Gary McAllister's cross into his own net. With the golden goal rule in force, it was to be the killer blow.