UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-21 Championship final statistics

UEFA.com rounds up the key U21 final stats, including the two showpieces decided on penalties, Italy's recent record, the Netherlands' home win and seven red cards.

Juan Mata is one of three players to have won a FIFA World Cup, U21 title and EURO
Juan Mata is one of three players to have won a FIFA World Cup, U21 title and EURO ©Getty Images

Under-21 historical statistics (competitive matches)

Champions (hosts)
2011: Spain (Denmark) *
2009: Germany (Sweden) *
2007: Netherlands (Netherlands) *
2006: Netherlands (Portugal) *
2004: Italy (Germany) *
2002: Czech Republic (Switzerland) *
2000: Italy (Slovakia)
1998: Spain (Romania)
1996: Italy (Spain)
1994: Italy (France)
1992: Italy
1990: USSR
1988: France
1986: Spain
1984: England
1982: England
1980: USSR
1978: Yugoslavia

*Current format

Finals contested up to, and including 1992, were over two legs.

Final statistics

• Laurent Blanc was the first player to achieve the treble of an U21 title (1988), a FIFA World Cup winners' medal (1998) and a UEFA European Championship victory (2000). Spain duo Juan Mata and Javi Martínez were the next to do so after glory at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, U21s in Denmark in 2011 and UEFA EURO 2012.

• Since the single-match finals began, two have ended in penalty shoot-outs, with nine-man Italy triumphing 4-2 in the 1996 decider against hosts Spain. The Czech Republic did likewise, prevailing 3-1 over France in 2002 following the only final to date to end in a goalless draw.

• Only the 1994 showpiece has been decided in extra time, substitute Pierluigi Orlandini winning it for Italy against Portugal with the only goal of the game in the 97th minute.

• Since the change of format in 1992-94, Italy have won all four finals in which they have appeared. The only other sides to have won it more than once are Spain and the team they beat in the semi-finals, the Netherlands.

• Six years ago the Netherlands became the first team to win the competition on home territory since the switch to a new format in 1994. Until then the final had been decided on a two-legged basis. Spain came closest in 1996, reaching the final where they lost on penalties to Italy.

• There have been three-goal wins in four out of the last five showpieces. The 2007 edition was the highest-scoring single-match final as goals from Otman Bakkal, Ryan Babel, Maceo Rigters and Luigi Bruins helped the Netherlands to a 4-1 win.

• Seven red cards have been issued in single-match finals, Serbia's Aleksandar Kolarov the latest addition to that list after seeing red in 2007.

• Andrea Pirlo, Klaas-Jan Huntelaar and Sandro Wagner are the only men to have scored twice in a final since 1994's move to one-off games. Prior to that, Gary Owen (England 1982), Franck Sauzée (France 1988) and Andrei Sidelnikov (USSR 1990) had all scored twice in one leg of a final.

• Prior to the single-match finals, Vahid Halilhodžić (for Yugoslavia v East Germany 1978) and Pierre Littbarski (for West Germany v England 1982) are the only men to have scored a hat-trick. Eight years later Littbarski claimed the 1990 World Cup, beating England in the semi-finals.

• Ten players have won the European U21 title twice: Danny Thomas (England 1982 and 1984), Dario Marcolin and Roberto Muzzi (Italy 1992, 1994), Fabio Cannavaro and Christian Panucci (Italy 1994, 1996) and Kenneth Vermeer, Arnold Kruiswijk, Daniël de Ridder, Ron Vlaar and Haris Medunjanin (Netherlands 2006, 2007).

• The fulcrum of Italy's 2006 FIFA World Cup-winning squad had also been involved in U21 final victories: Cannavaro (1994 and 1996), Filippo Inzaghi (1994), Francesco Totti and Alessandro Nesta (1996), Pirlo and Gennaro Gattuso (2000) and Marco Amelia, Daniele De Rossi, Alberto Gilardino and Andrea Barzagli (2004).