UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Germany move up all-time U21 honours board

Germany won their second U21 EURO title on Friday to climb level with England, the Netherlands and the Soviet Union on the all-time honours board. Italy lead the way with five.

Germany's players relish the occasion on the pitch after full time
Germany's players relish the occasion on the pitch after full time ©Sportsfile

Germany are one of just six nations to have won the U21 EURO title more than once following their triumph over Spain, though they are still some way off the top of the competition's all-time honours board.

UEFA European Under-21 Championship titles
5 Italy
4 Spain
2 England, Soviet Union, Netherlands, Germany
1 Yugoslavia, France, Czech Republic, Sweden

Germany won 1-0 against Spain in the final on Friday evening to lift the trophy for the second time. Their first triumph came in 2009, when they defeated England 4-0 in Malmo, Sweden.

Stefan Kuntz's side won their opening two fixtures in Poland – against Czech Republic and then Denmark – before losing 1-0 to Italy. They nevertheless progressed to the semi-finals as the group stage's best runners-up and then knocked England out on penalties following a 2-2 draw over 120 minutes.

Watch Sweden win the title in 2015

Champions (hosts)
Germany (Poland)
2015 Sweden (Czech Republic)
2013 Spain (Israel)
2011 Spain (Denmark)
2009 Germany (Sweden)
2007 Netherlands (Netherlands)
2006 Netherlands (Portugal)
2004 Italy (Germany)
2002 Czech Republic (Switzerland)
2000 Italy (Slovakia)
1998 Spain (Romania)
1996 Italy (Spain)
1994 Italy (France)
1992 Italy
1990 Soviet Union
1988 France
1986 Spain
1984 England
1982 England
1980 Soviet Union
1978 Yugoslavia