UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Zürich to meet Konak in qualifying round

A little over a month after VfL Wolfsburg retained the trophy, the 32 clubs in the 2014/15 qualifying round have discovered their mini-tournament opponents.

UEFA Women's Champions League qualifying draw ©Getty Images

FC Zürich Frauen and Konak Belediyespor, two clubs who reached the last 16 in 2013/14, have been drawn in the same UEFA Women's Champions League qualifying round group.

In all, 32 teams start their campaigns in the qualifying round, which is split into eight sections of four sides, played between 9 and 14 August. Along with Zürich, Konak – who took part in the competition for the first time last term – will travel to Latvia, where they will face the hosts, Rīgas FS, and their fellow debutants FC Minsk.

Like Zürich, Glasgow City FC will also be seeded in the round of 32 draw if they progress. The highest-ranked team in the qualifying round, Glasgow will stage a group containing British rivals Glentoran Belfast United FC, WFC Kharkiv and FC Union Nové Zámky.

Faroese title holders Klaksvíkar Ítrottarfelag – the only club to participate in all 14 editions of this tournament – venture east to Lithuania to tackle hosts Gintra Universitetas, Apollon LFC and KS Vllaznia.

The eight qualifying group winners, plus the two runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section, join the 22 automatic entrants in the 22 August draw for the rounds of 32 and 16, with the two-legged knockout phase beginning in October. The competition will conclude on 14 May in Berlin

Qualifying round draw
Group 1:
FC Zürich Frauen (SUI), Konak Belediyespor (TUR), FC Minsk (BLR), Rīgas FS (LVA)*

Group 2: CFF Olimpia Cluj (ROU)*, FC NSA Sofia (BUL), Raheny United FC (IRL), Hibernians FC (MLT)

Group 3: MTK Hungária FC (HUN), WFC Pomurje (SVN), Pärnu Jalgpalliklubi (EST), WFC Ekonomist (MNE)*

Group 4: Glasgow City FC (SCO)*, WFC Kharkiv (UKR), FC Union Nové Zámky (SVK), Glentoran Belfast United FC (NIR)

Group 5: ŽFK Spartak (SRB), ŽNK Osijek (CRO)*, Amazones Dramas AS (GRE), CS Goiador-SS 11-Real (MDA)

Group 6: Apollon LFC (CYP), Klaksvíkar Ítrottarfelag (FRO), Gintra Universitetas (LTU)*, KS Vllaznia (ALB)

Group 7: WFC SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)*, Åland United (FIN), KKPK Medyk Konin (POL), ŽFK Kochani (MKD)

Group 8: R. Standard de Liège (BEL), ASA Tel-Aviv University SC (ISR), Clube Atlético Ouriense (POR), Cardiff Met LAFC (WAL)


Full entry list with coefficients

Selected for you