UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe shortlist

The ten-strong shortlist for the 2015/16 UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award has been announced, with the winner unveiled on 25 August.

UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe shortlist
UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe shortlist ©UEFA.com

Ten players have made the shortlist for the 2015/16 UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award, with the winner to be decided on 25 August.

The shortlist has been selected by the coaches of the 12 top-ranked countries in Europe according to the national team coefficient ranking, plus those of the eight sides that took part in last season's UEFA Women's Champions League quarter-finals. Eight of Lyon's UEFA Women's Champions League winners are included.

The jury for the second round of voting is chosen by the ESM group and will be composed of 20 journalists committed to supporting women's football, with the final three nominees scheduled to be revealed on 5 August. The same jury will then cast their votes again, with the overall winner announced during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 25 August.

All three previous winners were from Germany and have now retired: Nadine Angerer (2013), Nadine Kessler (2014), Célia Šašić (2015).

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

Camille Abily (Lyon & France)
Ada Hegerberg (Lyon & Norway)
Amandine Henry (Lyon/Portland Thorns & France)
Saki Kumagai (Lyon & Japan)
Eugenie Le Sommer (Lyon & France)
Amel Majri (Lyon & France)
Dszenifer Marozsán (Frankfurt/Lyon & Germany)
Louisa Nécib (Lyon & France)
Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg & Germany)
Wendie Renard (Lyon & France)

In total, 39 players received votes in the initial poll; those not in the final shortlist are named below in order of how they finished:
11 Pernille Harder (Linköping & Denmark)
12 Vivianne Miedema (Bayern München & Netherlands)
13 Ramona Bachmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)
14 Kim Little (Melbourne City/Seattle Reign & Scotland)
15= Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg & Germany)
15= Caroline Seger (Paris Saint-Germain/Lyon & Sweden)
17 Lara Dickenmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)
18 Marta (Rosengård & Brazil)
19= Nilla Fischer (Wolfsburg & Sweden)
19= Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Rosengård/Wolfsburg & Iceland)
19= Isabell Herlovsen (LSK Kvinner & Norway)
19= Irene Paredes (Athletic Club/Paris Saint-Germain & Spain)
19= Lotta Schelin (Lyon/Rosengård & Sweden)
24= Cristiane (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil)
24= Caroline Graham Hansen (Wolfsburg & Norway)
26= Pauline Bremer (Lyon & Germany)
26= Shirley Cruz Traña (Paris Saint-Germain & Costa Rica)
26= Sara Däbritz (Bayern München & Germany)
26= Zsanett Jakabfi (Wolfsburg & Hungary)
26= Vicky Losada (Arsenal & Spain)
26= Anja Mittag (Paris Saint-Germain & Germany)
26= Jill Scott (Manchester City & England)
33 Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg & Germany)
34= Melanie Behringer (Bayern München & Germany)
34= Stephanie Houghton (Manchester City & England)
34= Amanda Sampedro (Atlético Madrid & Spain)
34= Olivia Schough (Eskilstuna United & Sweden)
34= Barbara Votíková (Slavia Praha & Czech Republic)
34= Tessa Wullaert (Wolfsburg & Belgium)

Selected for you