UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ada Hegerberg voted Best Women's Player in Europe

Lyon and Norway's Ada Hegerberg has won the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award for 2015/16 ahead of Amandine Henry and Dzsenifer Marozsán.

Hegerberg delight at Best Women's Player in Europe award

Ada Hegerberg has been voted the winner of the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award for 2015/16 ahead of Amandine Henry and Dzsenifer Marozsán.

Lyon and Norway forward Hegerberg, 21, topped the poll of a jury composed of 20 journalists each committed to supporting women's football, and selected by the European Sports Media Group (ESM). She is the first non-German winner, after Celia Šašić (2014/15), Nadine Kessler (2013/14) and Nadine Angerer (2012/13) took the honour in the last three seasons. Henry and Marozsán also finished second and third respectively last term.

"It was an ambition for us to go for all the trophies last year and we did it," Hegerberg said. "To stand here with his trophy today is a real honour."

Watch all of Hegerberg’s goals in Lyon glory run

Hegerberg's season ...

Honours: UEFA Women's Champions League, French League, French Cup

Domestic league
Appearances: 20
Goals: 33

UEFA Women's Champions League
Appearances: 9
Goals: 13
Assists: 4

UEFA Women's EURO qualifying
Appearances: 6
Goals: 6
Assists: 1

  • In January she became the first woman in 20 years to win Norway's Gold Ball award for the country's best footballer.

Voting process
• The initial shortlist of ten was decided by lists submitted by the coaches of the 12 top-ranked countries in Europe according to the national team coefficient ranking, plus those of the eight sides that took part in last season's UEFA Women's Champions League quarter-finals.

• The top ten overall were then the subject of a second round of voting by the panel of journalists.

• The three players with the most points from the second round of voting were shortlisted for the final round and went into the final electronic poll in Monaco.

1 Ada Hegerberg (Lyon & Norway) 13 votes
2 Amandine Henry (Lyon/Portland Thorns & France) 4
3 Dzsenifer Marozsán (FFC Frankfurt/Lyon & Germany) 3

Other positions from the second round of voting
4 Saki Kumagai (Lyon & Japan)
5 Wendie Renard (Lyon & Japan)
6 Louisa Nécib (Lyon & France – now retired)
7 Alex Popp (Wolfsburg & Germany)
8 Camille Abily (Lyon & France)
9 Eugénie Le Sommer (Lyon & France)
10 Amel Majri (Lyon & France)

In total, 39 players received votes in the initial poll; those not in the final shortlist are named below in order of how they finished:
11 Pernille Harder (Linköping & Denmark)
12 Vivianne Miedema (Bayern München & Netherlands)
13 Ramona Bachmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)
14 Kim Little (Melbourne City/Seattle Reign & Scotland)
15= Almuth Schult (Wolfsburg & Germany)
15= Caroline Seger (Paris Saint-Germain/Lyon & Sweden)
17 Lara Dickenmann (Wolfsburg & Switzerland)
18 Marta (Rosengård & Brazil)
19= Nilla Fischer (Wolfsburg & Sweden)
19= Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Rosengård/Wolfsburg & Iceland)
19= Isabell Herlovsen (LSK Kvinner & Norway)
19= Irene Paredes (Athletic Club/Paris Saint-Germain & Spain)
19= Lotta Schelin (Lyon/Rosengård & Sweden)
24= Cristiane (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil)
24= Caroline Graham Hansen (Wolfsburg & Norway)
26= Pauline Bremer (Lyon & Germany)
26= Shirley Cruz Traña (Paris Saint-Germain & Costa Rica)
26= Sara Däbritz (Bayern München & Germany)
26= Zsanett Jakabfi (Wolfsburg & Hungary)
26= Vicky Losada (Arsenal & Spain)
26= Anja Mittag (Paris Saint-Germain & Germany)
26= Jill Scott (Manchester City & England)
33 Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg & Germany)
34= Melanie Behringer (Bayern München & Germany)
34= Stephanie Houghton (Manchester City & England)
34= Amanda Sampedro (Atlético Madrid & Spain)
34= Olivia Schough (Eskilstuna United & Sweden)
34= Barbara Votíková (Slavia Praha & Czech Republic)
34= Tessa Wullaert (Wolfsburg & Belgium)

Selected for you