UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Women's Futsal EURO: A female futsal first

The UEFA European Women's Futsal Championship is UEFA's first female competition in the sport.

UEFA Women's Futsal EURO: a female futsal first
UEFA Women's Futsal EURO: a female futsal first ©UEFA.com

On 4 April 2017, the UEFA Executive Committee agreed a revamp of their futsal competitions – including the launch of a first-ever UEFA Women's Futsal EURO.

The competition was to be held every two years, with a four-team final tournament. When the first draw was made on 5 July 2018, 23 nations had entered the inaugural edition, with Northern Ireland taking part before even making their men's Futsal EURO debut.

Spain emerged as the first champions, beating hosts Portugal in the first final in February 2019 in Gondomar, with Russia taking bronze ahead of Ukraine. And it was the same top two and venue in 2022; Spain defeating Portugal on penalties, with Ukraine third ahead of Hungary.

The third edition concluded in Debrecen, Hungary. This time, Spain beat eventual bronze-medallists Portugal in the semis before claiming the title again with victory against Ukraine, who had knocked out the hosts.