Ce stade aura une capacité de plus de 50 000 places et il accueille actuellement un club de D2 allemande.

L’Arena Stuttgart
L’Arena Stuttgart Bongarts/Getty Images

L'Arena Stuttgart a été construite en 1933. Elle a été rénovée et modernisée à plusieurs reprises depuis, et aura une capacité de plus de 50 000 spectateurs pour l'UEFA EURO 2024.

Connu sous le nom de Neckarstadion, ce stade a accueilli des matches lors des Coupes du Monde de la FIFA 1974 et 2006 et du Championnat d’Europe de l’UEFA 1988. Il a vécu aussi deux finales de Coupe des champions : la victoire du Real Madrid en 1959 sur Reims et celle du PSV Eindhoven en 1988 contre Benfica.

Après une rénovation terminée en 2011, l'Arena Stuttgart a été davantage consacrée au football, même si elle a accueilli des concerts tels que ceux de Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones ou Phil Collins. Actuellement en deuxième division allemande, le VfB Stuttgart, cinq fois champion national, en est le club résident.

Trois choses à faire

Admirer des voitures

Le Mercedes-Benz Museum
Le Mercedes-Benz MuseumGetty Images

Parmi les stars du Mercedes-Benz-Museum, la première voiture que le pionnier de l'automobile Gottlieb Daimler a produite ainsi que la Formule 1 championne du monde aux mains de Nico Rosberg. Le bâtiment abritant tous ces véhicules est également très impressionnant.

Explorer Königsstraße

Königsstraße (traduction : rue du roi) part de la gare centrale jusqu'au milieu de la ville et a beaucoup d'autres choses à proposer que le simple shopping. Rendez-vous à la Schlossplatz pour voir les Neue Schloss et Alte Schloss (nouveau et vieux châteaux) ainsi que les musées et le quartier commerçant de Königsbau.

Se régaler

La nourriture locale à Stuttgart a quelque chose de spécial : en ville, goûtez la Flädlesuppe (soupe de crêpes), les Maultaschen (ravioles garnies d'une grande variété de farces), le Zwiebelrostbraten (entrecôte aux oignons) le Kässpätzle (nouilles au fromage).

Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >
 

EURO 2024 venue profile: Arena Stuttgart, Stuttgart

A stadium that will have a capacity of over 50,000 currently home to a second-tier side.

Arena Stuttgart
Arena Stuttgart Bongarts/Getty Images

Stuttgart (population: 640,000) is a major industrial city ad home to two of the most famous car manufacturers in the world, Mercedes and Porsche. The mild climate and rich soil of the Neckar Valley mean the surrounding area produces some great wines too.

Arena Stuttgart

The Arena Stuttgart was built in 1933, has been renovated and modernised several times since, and will have a capacity of over 50,000 for UEFA EURO 2024.

Once known as the Neckarstadion, it staged games at the 1974 and 2006 FIFA World Cups and the 1988 UEFA European Championship, as well as holding two European Cup deciders – Real Madrid’s 1959 victory over Reims and PSV Eindhoven’s 1988 win against Benfica.

Following a refurbishment that was completed in 2011, the Arena Stuttgart is now a dedicated football stadium, although the likes of Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones and Phil Collins have played concerts there. Currently operating in Germany’s second tier, five-time national champions VfB Stuttgart are the resident home club.

Three things to do

Check out some cars

Mercedes-Benz-Museum
Mercedes-Benz-MuseumGetty Images

The Mercedes-Benz-Museum's star exhibits include the first car that automobile pioneer Gottlieb Daimler produced as well as Nico Rosberg's World Championship-winning Formula 1 car. The building that houses all these vehicles is a real eye-catcher too.

Explore Königsstraße

Königsstraße (translation: King Street) runs from central station to the middle of town, and has more to offer than shopping. Head for the Schlossplatz to see the Neue Schloss and Alte Schloss (new and old castles) as well as museums and the Königsbau shopping precinct.

Eat well

Local food in Stuttgart is something special: when in the city, try and check out Flädlesuppe (pancake soup), Maultaschen (pasta dough with various fillings), Zwiebelrostbraten (roast beef with onions) and Kässpätzle (local pasta with cheese).

Top