UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Futsal EURO 2022, Netherlands: all you need to know

The Netherlands will host UEFA Futsal EURO 2022 in Amsterdam and Groningen from 19 January to 6 February.

The Royal Netherlands Football Association (KNVB) will welcome its first major tournament in the sport since staging the inaugural FIFA Futsal World Cup in 1989, though it has been the venue for many major UEFA national-team and club events.

The 2022 finals, to be played from 19 January to 6 February that year, will be the first Futsal EURO since the switch from the biennial 12-team tournament to a 16-nation finals held every four years.

Qualified so far

Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Finland, Georgia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Netherlands (hosts), Poland, Portugal (holders), Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine (1 tbc from play-off)

Play-off (14 to 17 November)

Serbia vs Belarus

How qualifying works

The best of Futsal EURO 2018
The best of Futsal EURO 2018

A record 50 teams entered the competition with 49 competing to join the Netherlands, who have a bye to the finals.

Qualifying is in four stages:

Qualifying round
: The 33 teams not involved in the Futsal World Cup elite round competed in mini-tournaments. The nine group winners progressed direct to the qualifying group stage. The nine runners-up and the five third-placed teams with the best record against the top two in their section went to the qualifying round play-offs.

Qualifying round play-offs: The 14 teams competed in two-legged ties for the remaining seven qualifying group stage spots.

Qualifying group stage: The 16 teams who took part in the Futsal World Cup elite round joined the 16 that came through the qualifying round groups or play-offs. For the first time in Futsal EURO history, the eight groups of four teams competed home and away over a period of several months rather than in one-venue mini-tournaments. The eight group winners and six best runners-up qualify direct for the finals.

Play-off: The two runners-up who did not progress from the qualifying group stage will meet home and away, with a draw having determined the order of ties. The winners will join the other 15 contenders in the finals.

Final tournament format and provisional schedule

Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights
Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights

The 16 contenders will be drawn into four groups of four at 18:00 CET on 18 October at the KNVB Campus in Zeist. The top two in each group will progress to the knockout phase starting with the quarter-finals. The below schedule is provisional; the final calendar will be confirmed after the draw is made.


Wednesday 19 January
A2 vs A4 & A1 vs A3 (Amsterdam)
Thursday 20 January
B2 vs B4 & B1 vs B3 (Groningen)
Friday 21 January
C2 vs C4 & C1 vs C3 (Amsterdam)
Saturday 22 January
D2 vs D4 & D1 vs D3 (Groningen)
Sunday 23 January
A2 vs A3 & A4 vs A1 (Amsterdam)
Monday 24 January
B2 vs B3 & B4 vs B1 (Groningen)
Tuesday 25 January
C2 vs C3 & C4 vs C1 (Amsterdam)
Wednesday 26 January
D2 vs D3 & D4 vs D1 (Groningen)
Friday 28 January
B3 vs B4 & A1 vs A2 (Amsterdam)
B1 vs B2 & A3 vs A4 (Groningen)
Saturday 29 January
C1 vs C2 & D3 vs D4 (Amsterdam)
C3 vs C4 & D1 vs D2 (Groningen)

Ziiggo Dome, Amsterdam
Ziiggo Dome, AmsterdamUEFA


Monday 31 January
QF1: Winner Group B vs Runner-up Group A (Amsterdam)
QF2: Winner Group A vS Runner-up Group B (Amsterdam)
Tuesday 1 February
QF3: Winner Group C vs Runner-up Group D (Amsterdam)
QF4: Winner Group D vs Runner-up Group C (Amsterdam)


Friday 4 February
SF1: Winner QF2 vs QF4 (Amsterdam)
SF2: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF3 (Amsterdam)


Sunday 6 February
Third-place match: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2 (Amsterdam)
Final: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (Amsterdam)


Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam: Group stage, knockouts

The 10,500-seater arena opened in 2012 and as well as staging major indoor sports it is a leading concert venue.

MartiniPlaza,Groningen: Group stage

The 3,900-seater arena opened in 1989 and was expanded in 2000. It has staged major tennis and basketball events as well as concerts and exhibitions. It is the home of the Donar basketball team.

MartiniPlaza, Groningen
MartiniPlaza, GroningenUEFA

Road to the Netherlands: calendar

Qualifying round draw: 7 November 2019
Qualifying round: 29 January–1 February 2020
Qualifying round play-off draw: 13 February 2020, Nyon
Qualifying round play-offs: 2 November–9 December 2020
Qualifying group stage & play-off draw: 2 September 2020, Nyon 
Qualifying group stage: 6 December 2020–14 April 2021
Final tournament draw: 18 October 2021, Zeist
Play-offs: 14–17 November 2021
Final tournament: 19 January–6 February 2022, Netherlands

Past finals

2018: Portugal 3-2 Spain (aet): Ljubljana, Slovenia
2016: Spain 7-3 Russia: Belgrade, Serbia
2014: Italy 3-1 Russia; Antwerp, Belgium
2012: Spain 3-1 Russia (aet); Zagreb, Croatia
2010: Spain 4-2 Portugal; Debrecen, Hungary
2007: Spain 3-1 Italy; Porto, Portugal
2005: Spain 2-1 Russia; Ostrava, Czech Republic
2003: Italy 1-0 Ukraine; Caserta, Italy
2001: Spain 2-1 Ukraine (golden goal); Moscow, Russia
1999: Russia 3-3 Spain (aet, 4-3 pens); Granada, Spain
1996*: Spain 5-3 Russia; Córdoba, Spain
*UEFA European Futsal Tournament, championship status from 1999 onwards