UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Futsal EURO qualifying group stage guide

The new home-and-away qualifiers will run until April, leading to the expanded 16-team finals.

Kazakhstan made a winning start
Kazakhstan made a winning start ©KFF.KZ

For the first time, UEFA Futsal EURO qualifying includes a qualifying group stage with the eight four-team sections played home and away until April.

The eight group winners and the six best runners-up join hosts the Netherlands in the finals from 9 January to 6 February 2022, with the remaining two runners-up to play off for the other berth from 14–17 November 2021.

  • The finals have now expanded to 16 teams and are played every four years rather than every two
  • Portugal aim to defend the title they won for the first time in Slovenia in 2018
  • Spain have won seven titles (including the initial 1996 tournament before Futsal EURO gained championship status in 1999)
  • Two-time champions Italy and 1999 winners Russia, along with Spain, have played in every final tournament
  • Hoping to earn a finals debut: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Slovakia, Switzerland
  • Czech Republic, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Russia, Serbia and Spain along with hosts Lithuania will compete at the 2021 FIFA Futsal World Cup from 12 September to 3 October.

Qualifying groups

Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights
Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights

Group 1: Denmark, Croatia, Albania, Ukraine

27 January: Croatia vs Albania, Ukraine vs Denmark
30 January: Denmark vs Croatia
31 January: Albania vs Ukraine

3 March: Croatia vs Ukraine, Albania vs Denmark
7 March: Denmark vs Albania, Ukraine vs Croatia

7 April: Albania vs Croatia, Denmark vs Ukraine
10 April: Croatia vs Denmark, Ukraine vs Albania

France and Georgia started with a 4-4 draw
France and Georgia started with a 4-4 drawIcon Sport via Getty Images

Group 2: Armenia, France, Georgia, Russia

8 December: France 4-4 Georgia

29 January: Russia vs Armenia
2 February: Georgia vs Russia
3 February: Armenia vs France

5 March: Georgia vs Armenia, France vs Russia
9 March: Russia vs France
10 March: Armenia vs Georgia

8 April: Armenia vs Russia
9 April: Georgia vs France
12 April: Russia vs Georgia
14 April: France vs Armenia

Group 3: Greece, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Moldova

28 January: Moldova vs Greece
29 January: Azerbaijan vs Slovakia
2 February: Greece vs Azerbaijan, Slovakia vs Moldova

4 March: Azerbaijan vs Moldova, Slovakia vs Greece
7 March: Greece vs Slovakia
9 March: Moldova vs Azerbaijan

8 April: Slovakia vs Azerbaijan
9 April: Greece vs Moldova
13 April: Moldova vs Slovakia
14 April: Azerbaijan vs Greece

Group 4: North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

28 January: Romania vs Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina vs North Macedonia
3 February: Serbia vs Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia vs Romania

4 March: Romania vs Bosnia and Herzegovina
5 March: Serbia vs North Macedonia
9 March: North Macedonia vs Serbia
10 March: Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Romania

8 April: North Macedonia vs Bosnia and Herzegovina
9 April: Serbia vs Romania
14 April: Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Serbia, Romania vs North Macedonia

Group 5: Israel, Kazakhstan, Hungary, Belarus

8 December: Israel 0-3 Belarus
9 December: Kazakhstan 5-0 Hungary

28 January: Israel vs Kazakhstan
3 February: Hungary vs Belarus

2 March: Kazakhstan vs Belarus
3 March: Hungary vs Israel
8 March: Belarus vs Kazakhstan
10 March: Israel vs Hungary

6 April: Hungary vs Kazakhstan, Belarus vs Israel
13 April: Belarus vs Hungary, Kazakhstan vs Israel

Spain are aiming to win back the title they lost in 2018
Spain are aiming to win back the title they lost in 2018RFEF

Group 6: Switzerland, Spain, Latvia, Slovenia

8 December: Spain 7-0 Latvia, Slovenia 12-1 Switzerland

29 January: Latvia vs Slovenia, Switzerland vs Spain
1 February: Latvia vs Switzerland
2 February: Spain vs Slovenia

5 March: Switzerland vs Latvia
6 March: Slovenia vs Spain
9 March: Latvia vs Spain, Switzerland vs Slovenia

12 April: Slovenia vs Latvia, Spain vs Switzerland

Group 7: Montenegro, Italy, Belgium, Finland

28 January: Montenegro vs Italy, Belgium vs Finland
2 February: Italy vs Finland, Belgium vs Montenegro

4 March: Montenegro vs Belgium
5 March: Finland vs Italy
8 March: Finland vs Montenegro
9 March: Italy vs Belgium

8 April: Belgium vs Italy
9 April: Montenegro vs Finland
13 April: Finland vs Belgium, Italy vs Montenegro

Group 8: Poland, Portugal (holders), Norway, Czech Republic

29 January: Czech Republic vs Poland, Portugal vs Norway
1 February: Norway vs Czech Republic (played in Brno)
3 February: Poland vs Portugal

5 March: Portugal vs Czech Republic, Norway vs Poland (played in Łódź)
8 March: Poland vs Norway
10 March: Czech Republic vs Portugal

9 April: Poland vs Czech Republic
11 April: Norway vs Portugal (played in Mafra)
14 April: Czech Republic vs Norway, Portugal vs Poland

Fixture dates

8–9 December 2020
27 January–3 February 2021
2–10 March 2021
6–14 April 2021


Eighth-ranked runner-up vs Seventh-ranked runner-up

  • Two-legged tie from 14–17 November 2021.


  • The teams who competed in the FIFA Futsal World Cup elite round: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Italy, Kazakhstan, Portugal (holders), Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine
  • The nine qualifying round group winners: Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova, Norway, Poland
  • The seven qualifying round play-off winners: Armenia, Denmark, Greece, Israel, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Switzerland