UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

First and second qualifying round draw results

Involved in last year's group stage or beyond, GNK Dinamo Zagreb, Celtic FC and FC BATE Borisov discovered their opponents at Monday's first and second qualifying round draws.

First and second qualifying round draw results
First and second qualifying round draw results ©UEFA.com

Defeated by Juventus in last season's UEFA Champions League round of 16, Celtic FC will begin their 2013/14 campaign with a second qualifying round tie against Cliftonville FC of Northern Ireland.

The first and second qualifying round draws both took place in Nyon on Monday, with former European Cup winners Celtic and FC Steaua Bucureşti among the clubs to discover their opponents. While Celtic have a British derby on their hands, Steaua have been pitted against Macedonian First League champions FK Vardar in the second round.

As well as Neil Lennon's side, there were two other teams involved in the draw who had participated in last term's group stage. FC BATE Borisov kick off their latest European campaign against Kazakhstani outfit FC Shakhter Karagandy, with GNK Dinamo Zagreb taking on CS Fola Esch from Luxembourg.

Elsewhere, Paulo Sousa, a UEFA Champions League winner in successive seasons as a player – with Juventus in 1996 and Borussia Dortmund in 1997 – will start life at the helm of Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC with a tie against Hungarian club Győri ETO FC.

The first qualifying round unfolds on 2/3 and 9/10 July. The second round games will be played over two legs on 16/17 and 23/24 July. The 16 victorious sides must navigate the third qualifying round and a play-off to reach the group stage. The likes of Olympique Lyonnais, FC Zenit St Petersburg and PSV Eindhoven await them in the third qualifying round.

First qualifying round draw (2/3 and 9/10 July)*
FC Shirak (ARM) v SP Tre Penne (SMR)
FC Lusitans (AND) v v EB/Streymur (FRO)

Second qualifying round draw (16/17 and 23/24 July)*
Neftçi PFK (AZE) v KS Skënderbeu (ALB)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) v FK Vardar (MKD)
FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE) v FK Željezničar (BIH)
FC Sheriff (MDA) v FK Sutjeska (MNE)
Birkirkara FC (MLT) v NK Maribor (SVN)
Sligo Rovers FC (IRL) v Molde FK (NOR)
IF Elfsborg (SWE) v FC Daugava Daugavpils (LVA)
HJK Helsinki (FIN) v JK Nõmme Kalju (EST)
FK Ekranas (LTU) v FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL)
The New Saints FC (WAL) v Legia Warszawa (POL)
Celtic FC (SCO) v Cliftonville FC (NIR)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) v CS Fola Esch (LUX)
Győri ETO FC (HUN) v Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
FC BATE Borisov (BLR) v FC Shakhter Karagandy (KAZ)
FC Shirak (ARM) / SP Tre Penne (SMR) v FK Partizan (SRB)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK) v PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL)
FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO) v FC Lusitans (AND) / EB/Streymur (FRO)

* Results subject to pending disciplinary proceedings and final confirmation from UEFA

Selected for you