UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Champions League third qualifying round draw

Involved in the knockout stage last term, AS Monaco, Basel and Shakhtar Donetsk were among the teams to discover their opponents as the third qualifying round draw was made.

Third qualifying round draw ©Getty Images for UEFA

Quarter-finalists last season, AS Monaco will take on Young Boys in the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round. Shakhtar Donetsk, who also reached the knockout phase in 2014/15, will return to the scene of the club's 2009 UEFA Cup triumph, the Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium, when they play Fenerbahçe in the first leg of their tie. Basel, another side to negotiate the group stage last year, were paired with Bosnian or Polish opposition during Friday's draw in Nyon. 

Third qualifying round draw (ties 28/29 July & 4/5 August)
League route
Panathinaikos FC (GRE) v Club Brugge KV (BEL)
BSC Young Boys (SUI) v AS Monaco FC (FRA)
PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS) v AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT) v AFC Ajax (NED)
Fenerbahçe SK (TUR) v FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)

• Bye to play-offs: Manchester United FC (ENG), Valencia CF (ESP), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER), Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR), SS Lazio (ITA)

Champions route
(updated after second qualifying round ties conclude)
KKS Lech Poznań (POL) v FC Basel 1893 (SUI)
FC Milsami Orhei (MDA) v KF Skënderbeu (ALB)
HJK Helsinki (FIN) v FC Astana (KAZ)
Celtic FC (SCO) v Qarabağ FK (AZE)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) v FK Partizan (SRB)
FC Midtjylland (DEN) v APOEL FC (CYP)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) v FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) v Molde FK (NOR)
Videoton FC (HUN) v FC BATE Borisov (BLR)
FC Salzburg (AUT) v Malmö FF (SWE)

• Second qualifying round second legs played on Tuesday and Wednesday: first-leg results

Road to Milan
Play-off draw: 12.00CET, 7 August, Nyon
Play-off, first leg: 18/19 August
Play-off, second leg: 25/26 August

Bye to group stage:
Pot 1:
FC Barcelona (ESP, holders), FC Bayern München (GER), Chelsea FC (ENG), SL Benfica (POR), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Juventus (ITA), FC Zenit (RUS), PSV Eindhoven (NED)
Other pots:
Real Madrid CF (ESP), Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP), FC Porto (POR), Arsenal FC (ENG), Manchester City FC (ENG), Sevilla FC (ESP), Olympique Lyonnais (FRA), FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR), Olympiacos FC (GRE), Galatasaray AŞ (TUR), AS Roma (ITA), VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER), VfL Wolfsburg (GER), KAA Gent (BEL)

Group stage draw: 17.45CET, 27 August, Monaco
Matchday one: 15/16 September
Matchday two: 29/30 September
Matchday three: 20/21 October
Matchday four: 3/4 November
Matchday five: 24/25 November
Matchday six: 8/9 December

Round of 16 draw: 12.00CET, 14 December, Nyon
Round of 16, first leg: 16/17/23/24 February
Round of 16, second leg: 8/9/15/16 March
Quarter-final draw: 12.00CET, 18 March, Nyon
Quarter-final, first leg: 5/6 April
Quarter-final second leg: 12/13 April
Semi-final draw: 12.00CET, 15 April. Nyon
Semi-final, first leg: 26/27 April
Semi-final, second leg: 3/4 May
Final: 20.45CET, 28 May, San Siro

Selected for you