UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Madrid and Lincoln bookend 2014/15 entries

The 77 contenders for 2014/15 are confirmed, with holders Real Madrid CF among 22 teams in the group stage and Gibraltar's first entrants one of 55 qualifying hopefuls.

Real Madrid hope to become the first successful defending champions
Real Madrid hope to become the first successful defending champions ©Getty Images

The 77 contenders for the UEFA Champions League have been confirmed by UEFA, led by Real Madrid CF.

Madrid, along with last month's final opponents Club Atlético de Madrid, are among 22 teams given byes to the group stage, which starts in September, while 55 others enter in the three qualifying rounds or play-offs. A country's representation in the UEFA Champions League is determined by its UEFA coefficient ranking, which is calculated over a five-year basis.

The champions route, involving the 40 league winners not handed automatic group places, begins with six clubs entering the first qualifying round,  including Gibraltar's debut entrants Lincoln FC.

The draw for that stage, and the second qualifying round for which 31 teams are confirmed, will kick off the season on Monday at 12.00CET, streamed live on UEFA.com. FC Salzburg, APOEL FC and Aalborg BK enter in the third qualifying round of the the champions route, where eventually 20 teams will compete for the five group berths available from that path.

Runners-up and third and fourth-place finishers from Europe's 15 highest-ranked associations are in the league route. Ten will play in the third qualifying round with the winners joining five others in five play-off ties in August. All 77 hopefuls are looking for places in the final at the Olympiastadion, Berlin, on Saturday 6 June 2015.


The list below is provisional, however, and is subject to pending legal proceedings and final confirmation from UEFA.

UEFA Champions League group stage
1Real Madrid CF (ESP) – holders161.542
2FC Barcelona (ESP)157.542
3FC Bayern München (GER)154.328
4Chelsea FC (ENG)140.949
5SL Benfica (POR)129.459
6Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP)119.542
7FC Schalke 04 (GER)95.328
8Borussia Dortmund (GER)82.328
9Juventus (ITA)80.387
10Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)80.300
11FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)78.193
12FC Basel 1893 (SUI)75.645
13Manchester City FC (ENG)72.949
14Olympiacos FC (GRE)67.720
15PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS)66.899
16AFC Ajax (NED)61.862
17Liverpool FC (ENG)58.949
18Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)58.459
19Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)55.340
20RSC Anderlecht (BEL)50.260
21AS Roma (ITA)39.887
22AS Monaco FC (FRA)11.300
23Winner play-off 
24Winner play-off 
25Winner play-off 
26Winner play-off 
27Winner play-off 
28Winner play-off 
29Winner play-off 
30Winner play-off 
31Winner play-off 
32Winner play-off 

The 32 teams will be split into four seeding pots of eight, and one from each pot will be drawn into eight groups at the group stage draw in Monaco on 28 August.

UEFA Champions League play-off – league route
1Arsenal FC (ENG)112.949
2FC Porto (POR)105.459
3Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER)70.328
4SSC Napoli (ITA)61.387
5Athletic Club (ESP)54.542
6Winner third qualifying round 
7Winner third qualifying round 
8Winner third qualifying round 
9Winner third qualifying round 
10Winner third qualifying round 

UEFA Champions League play-off – champions route
1Winner third qualifying round 
2Winner third qualifying round 
3Winner third qualifying round 
4Winner third qualifying round 
5Winner third qualifying round 
6Winner third qualifying round 
7Winner third qualifying round 
8Winner third qualifying round 
9Winner third qualifying round 
10Winner third qualifying round 

UEFA Champions League third qualifying round – league route
1FC Zenit (RUS)73.899
2LOSC Lille (FRA)45.300
3FC København (DEN)45.260
4R. Standard de Liège (BEL)38.260
5Beşiktaş JK (TUR)32.840
6FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)*32.193
7Panathinaikos FC (GRE)*30.220
8Feyenoord (NED)13.362
9Grasshopper Club (SUI)9.645
10AEL Limassol FC (CYP)7.650

UEFA Champions League third qualifying round – champions route
1FC Salzburg (AUT)46.185
2APOEL FC (CYP)39.150
3Aalborg BK (DEN)5.260
4Winner second qualifying round 
5Winner second qualifying round 
6Winner second qualifying round 
7Winner second qualifying round 
8Winner second qualifying round
9Winner second qualifying round 
10Winner second qualifying round
11Winner second qualifying round 
12Winner second qualifying round 
13Winner second qualifying round 
14Winner second qualifying round 
15Winner second qualifying round 
16Winner second qualifying round 
17Winner second qualifying round 
18Winner second qualifying round 
19Winner second qualifying round 
20Winner second qualifying round 

UEFA Champions League second qualifying round
1FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)39.451
2Celtic FC (SCO)36.813
3FC BATE Borisov (BLR)33.725
4AC Sparta Praha (CZE)28.870
5GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)23.925
6PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL)18.125
7Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)17.875
8FC Sheriff (MDA)17.075
9NK Maribor (SVN)16.200
10Legia Warszawa (POL)15.275
11FK Partizan (SRB)*14.825
12Debreceni VSC (HUN)10.325
13ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)8.700
14FC Aktobe (KAZ)8.150
15FK Ventspils (LVA)7.750
16Qarabağ FK (AZE)7.575
17HJK Helsinki (FIN)7.435
18FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)6.975
19Malmö FF (SWE)6.265
20KR Reykjavík (ISL)5.350
21F91 Dudelange (LUX)4.975
22Strømsgodset IF (NOR)4.855
23The New Saints FC (WAL)4.850
24Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL)4.775
25KS Skënderbeu (ALB)4.600
26FK Rabotnicki (MKD)4.550
27Valletta FC (MLT)4.466
28HŠK Zrinjski (BIH)4.000
29Cliftonville FC (NIR)3.225
30VMFD Žalgiris (LTU)3.050
31FK Sutjeska (MNE)2.450
32Winner first qualifying round 
33Winner first qualifying round 
34Winner first qualifying round 

UEFA Champions League first qualifying round
1FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)4.575
2HB Tórshavn (FRO)3.175
3FC Santa Coloma (AND)2.166
4FC Banants (ARM)1.325
5SP La Fiorita (SMR)0.699
6Lincoln FC (GIB)0.000

*Pending CFCB or other final ranking decision