UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Best Player in Europe ten-player shortlist

The initial 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award shortlist has been revealed, with ten players set for a second round of voting to decide the three finalist nominees.

UEFA Best Player in Europe Award shortlist ©Getty Images

The ten-player shortlist for the 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award has been announced.

The players, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Diego Costa (Spain, Club Atlético de Madrid – now at Chelsea FC)
• Ángel Di María (Argentina, Real Madrid CF)
James Rodríguez (Colombia, AS Monaco FC – now at Real Madrid CF*)
• Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
• Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Arjen Robben (Netherlands, FC Bayern München)
• Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
• Luis Suárez (Uruguay, Liverpool FC – now at FC Barcelona)

Those ten now go into a second round of voting to produce the three finalist nominees, who will be named on Thursday 14 August. The award will then be presented in Monaco on 28 August during the 2014/15 UEFA Champions League group stage draw.

Jury of journalists
As in previous years, a jury of journalists from each of UEFA's member associations has provided the initial list by voting for their five best players. The players are ordered from one to five, with the first receiving five points, the second four points and so on.

Only the ten best-ranked players advance to the second vote, which in turn defines the three finalists. That same jury will then cast their live votes during a special ceremony at the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, with the journalists using an electronic system to determine the outright winner from the three candidates.

In total, 35 players received votes in the initial poll (those not in the final shortlist are named below in order of how they finished):

11Sergio Ramos, Spain, Real Madrid CF
12Thibaut Courtois, Belgium, Club Atlético de Madrid (Chelsea FC)
13Zlatan Ibrahimović, Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain
 Andrea Pirlo, Italy, Juventus
15Yaya Touré, Ivory Coast, Manchester City FC
16Toni Kroos, Germany, FC Bayern München – now at Real Madrid CF
17Neymar, Brazil, FC Barcelona
 Bastian Schweinsteiger, Germany, FC Bayern München
19Gareth Bale, Wales, Real Madrid CF
20Diego Godin, Uruguay, Club Atlético de Madrid
21Sergio Agüero, Argentina, Manchester City FC
 Koke, Spain, Club Atlético de Madrid
 Arturo Vidal, Chile, Juventus
24Karim Benzema, France, Real Madrid CF
 Kris Commons, Scotland, Celtic FC
 Javier Mascherano, Argentina, FC Barcelona
 Franck Ribéry, France, FC Bayern München
28Mario Götze, Germany, FC Bayern München
 Mats Hummels, Germany, Borussia Dortmund
 Ivan Rakitić, Croatia, Sevilla FC – now at FC Barcelona
 Thiago Silva, Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain
 Wesley Sneijder, Netherlands, Galatasaray AŞ
 Carlos Tévez, Argentina, Juventus
 Arda Turan, Turkey, Club Atlético de Madrid
 Robin van Persie, Netherlands, Manchester United FC

This season marks the fourth edition of the award, which was born out of an initiative by UEFA President Michel Platini, in partnership with the European Sports Media (ESM) group. Lionel Messi, Andrés Iniesta and Franck Ribéry won the first, second and third editions respectively.

*James joined Real Madrid on 22 July