UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

How the Europa League winners enter the Champions League

How the system works and what it means for UEFA Champions League places.

The UEFA Europa League winners earn a place in the UEFA Champions League group stage
The UEFA Europa League winners earn a place in the UEFA Champions League group stage ©Getty Images

What's the deal?

It's simple: the winners of the 2019/20 UEFA Europa League have the added incentive of gaining automatic entry into the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League group stage.

Has that always been the case?

When the rule was introduced for 2014/15 (for access for 2015/16), winners were initially assured only of a UEFA Champions League play-off place, going straight into the group stage if either themselves or the UEFA Champions League holders had already qualified via their domestic league. That, in fact, always happened in the three seasons that particular rule existed. It switched to automatic entry in 2017/18.

What if the winners have already qualified via their domestic league?

If the UEFA Europa League winners qualify for the group stage via their domestic league, the third-placed team of the fifth-ranked association (France) enter the group stage. This happened in each of the last two seasons: UEFA Europa League winners Atlético Madrid and Chelsea qualified via their domestic league so Lyon, third in France both times, entered in the group stage.

Who has benefited so far?

2014/15 – winners Sevilla (finished fifth in Liga)
2015/16 – winners Sevilla (seventh in Liga)
2016/17 – winners Manchester United (sixth in Premier League)
2017/18 – Lyon
2018/19 – Lyon

Please note that the associations' allocation of places may change. In addition, the conclusive access list is subject to UEFA's final approval.