Sweden become tenth U21 EURO winners

Sweden joined Yugoslavia, France, the Czech Republic and Germany on one U21 EURO win thanks to their shoot-out defeat of Portugal in Tuesday's final in Prague.

Sweden celebrate at full time
©Getty Images

Sweden became the tenth winners of the UEFA European Under-21 Championship with their shoot-out defeat of Portugal in Tuesday's final in Prague.

Portugal had also been seeking a maiden success in the competition, but it is Sweden that is the latest name to be inscribed on the trophy. The Swedes came closest to breaking their U21 duck in the eighth edition, in 1992, but lost to Italy 2-1 on aggregate in the final. The most recent first-time winners of the competition were Germany, who defeated England in the 2009 decider.

Both titles since then have been won by Spain, who have four wins to their name, one shy of the Azzurrini's record haul.

UEFA European Under-21 Championship titles
5 Italy
4 Spain
2 England, Soviet Union, Netherlands
1 Yugoslavia, France, Czech Republic, Germany, Sweden

Spain celebrate their 2013 title win
Spain celebrate their 2013 title win©Getty Images

Champions (hosts)
2015 Sweden (Czech Republic)*
2013 Spain (Israel)*
2011 Spain (Denmark)*
2009 Germany (Sweden)*
2007 Netherlands (Netherlands)*
2006 Netherlands (Portugal)*
2004 Italy (Germany)*
2002 Czech Republic (Switzerland)*
2000 Italy (Slovakia)
1998 Spain (Romania)
1996 Italy (Spain)
1994 Italy (France)
1992 Italy
1990 Soviet Union
1988 France
1986 Spain
1984 England
1982 England
1980 Soviet Union
1978 Yugoslavia

* Current format