UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.
Draw is live

Play-off round

Nyon - - your local time

Procedure Draw replay Procedure Draw replay

Play-off round

The play-off draw will be streamed live on UEFA.com from 12.00CET on Friday 8 August.

Play-off round
Play-off round ©Getty Images

The UEFA Champions League play-off draw takes place on Friday 8 August:

When? Proceedings begin at 12.00CET and will be streamed live on UEFA.com.

Where? The draw is made at UEFA headquarters in Nyon.

Coverage: UEFA.com's new DrawCentre will have build-up, live streaming and reaction during the course of Friday from 10.00CET.

Who? There will be 20 teams involved: ten in the champions route and ten in the league route.

Arsenal's Arsène Wenger
Arsenal's Arsène Wenger©Getty Images

Automatic entrants: Arsenal FC, Athletic Club, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, SSC Napoli and FC Porto.

Note: Celtic FC have replaced Legia Warszawa in the draw due to a UEFA disiciplinary decision.

League route
Arsenal FC (ENG), FC Porto (POR), FC Zenit (RUS), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER), SSC Napoli (ITA)
Unseeded: Athletic Club (ESP), LOSC Lille (FRA), FC København (DEN), R. Standard de Liège (BEL), Beşiktaş JK (TUR)

Champions route
FC Salzburg (AUT), FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU), APOEL FC (CYP), Celtic FC (SCO), FC BATE Borisov (BLR)
Unseeded: PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL), NK Maribor (SVN), ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK), Malmö FF (SWE), Aalborg BK (DEN)

Ties will be played on 19/20 & 26/27 August, the ten winners joining the 22 teams automatically qualified for the group stage.