UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Champions League group stage draw

Geneva - - your local time

The draw is finished. Select Play to watch it back.
Results Live updates Updates Procedure

UEFA Champions League group stage draw

The group stage draw took place on 1 October.

The UEFA Champions League group stage draw will take place on 1 October
The UEFA Champions League group stage draw will take place on 1 October ©UEFA via Getty Images

When and where was the draw?

The draw took place on Thursday 1 October at the RTS studios in Geneva, Switzerland. The draw ceremony began at 17:00 CET.

Draw result

Group A: Bayern, Atlético Madrid, Salzburg, Lokomotiv Moskva
Group B: Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, Internazionale, Mönchengladbach
Group C: Porto, Manchester City, Olympiacos, Marseille
Group D: Liverpool, Ajax, Atalanta, Midtjylland
Group E: Sevilla, Chelsea, Krasnodar, Rennes
Group F: Zenit, Dortmund, Lazio, Club Brugge
Group G: Juventus, Barcelona, Dynamo Kyiv, Ferencváros
Group H: Paris, Manchester United, Leipzig, İstanbul Başakşehir

Pots and seedings

Pot 1

Bayern (GER), UEFA Champions League holders
Sevilla (ESP), UEFA Europa League holders
Real Madrid (ESP)
Liverpool (ENG)
Juventus (ITA)
Paris (FRA)
Zenit (RUS)
Porto (POR)

Pot 2

Barcelona (ESP) coefficient 128.000
Atlético de Madrid (ESP) 127.000
Manchester City (ENG) 116.000
Manchester United (ENG) 100.000
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) 85.000
Dortmund (GER) 85.000
Chelsea (ENG) 83.000
Ajax (NED) 69.500

Pot 3

Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)* 55.000
Salzburg (AUT)* 53.500
RB Leipzig (GER) 49.000
Internazionale Milano (ITA) 44.000
Olympiacos (GRE)* 43.000
Lazio (ITA) 41.000
Krasnodar (RUS)* 35.500
Atalanta (ITA) 33.500

Pot 4

Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) 33.000
Marseille (FRA) 31.000
Club Brugge (BEL) 28.500
Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER) 26.000
İstanbul Başakşehir (TUR) 21.500
Midtjylland (DEN)* 14.500
Rennes (FRA) 14.000
Ferencváros (HUN)* 9.000

*Qualified via the play-offs

Draw procedure

  • The 26 teams given direct entry to the group stage were joined by the six winners of the play-off ties.
  • The teams were split into four seeding pots. Pot 1 consisted of the holders, the UEFA Europa League winners and the champions of the six highest-ranked nations who did not qualify via one of the 2019/20 titles . Pots 2 to 4 were determined by the club coefficient rankings.
  • No team could play a club from their own association.
  • In the case of associations with two representatives, clubs were paired in order to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday. In the case of associations with four representatives, two pairings were made. These pairings were based on TV audiences.

Which clubs are paired?

To ensure that paired clubs from the same country played on separate days where possible, the eight groups were distinguished by colour: Groups A to D are red and Groups E to H are blue. When a paired club was drawn, for example, in one of the red groups (A, B, C or D), the other paired club – once it was drawn – were automatically assigned to one of the four blue groups (E, F, G or H). The pairings were as follows:

A Bayern & Dortmund
B Sevilla & Atlético de Madrid
C Real Madrid & Barcelona
D Liverpool & Man. United
E Juventus & Inter
F Paris & Marseille
G Zenit & Lokomotiv
H Man. City & Chelsea
I Shakhtar & Dynamo Kyiv
J RB Leipzig & Mönchengladbach
K Lazio & Atalanta

Match dates

Matchday 1: 20/21 October
Matchday 2: 27/28 October
Matchday 3: 3/4 November
Matchday 4: 24/25 November
Matchday 5: 1/2 December
Matchday 6: 8/9 December

Draws are provisional and are subject to final confirmation from UEFA.  

Suggested for you