UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

First 2014/15 missions for Celtic and Steaua

Former European champions Celtic FC and FC Steaua Bucureşti have been paired with KR Reykjavík and Strømsgodset IF in the first and second qualifying round draws.

First and second qualifying round draws ©Getty Images

Former European champions Celtic FC and FC Steaua Bucureşti will take on KR Reykjavík and Strømsgodset IF respectively in their opening ties of the new UEFA Champions League season following the draws for the first and second qualifying rounds in Nyon.

Both Celtic and Steaua will enter the competition in the second qualifying round, the same stage as last season, when both clubs went on to reach the group stage. Their respective bids for a repeat both start against Nordic opposition, in the shape of Iceland's KR and Strømsgodset, from Norway.

At the same stage, recent group stage participants FC BATE Borisov have been paired with KS Skënderbeu and GNK Dinamo Zagreb must overcome VMFD Žalgiris. Bulgarian champions PFC Ludogorets Razgrad – who reached the 2013/14 UEFA Europa League round of 16 – have been drawn against F91 Dudelange of Luxembourg.

Andorran champions FC Santa Coloma were the first team to be drawn out in this season's competition, and will take on Armenia's FC Banants in the first qualifying round. Lincoln FC become the first Gibraltarian side to participate in the UEFA Champions League; HB Tórshavn are their opponents, with FC Levadia Tallinn of Estonia taking on San Marino's SP La Fiorita in the other first qualifying round tie.

The first qualifying round ties will be played on 1/2 and 8/9 July, with the second qualifying round games following on 15/16 and 22/23 July.

Full list of 2014/15 UEFA Champions League participants/coefficients

First qualifying round (1/2 and 8/9 July)
FC Santa Coloma (AND) v FC Banants (ARM)
Lincoln FC (GIB) v HB Tórshavn (FRO)
SP La Fiorita (SMR) v FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)

Second qualifying round (15/16 and 22/23 July)
FC BATE Borisov (BLR) v KS Skënderbeu (ALB)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) v FC Santa Coloma (ARM)/FC Banants (ARM)
FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO) v FK Aktobe (KAZ)
HŠK Zrinjski (BIH) v NK Maribor (SVN)
FC Sheriff (MDA) v FK Sutjeska (MNE)
AC Sparta Praha (CZE) v SP La Fiorita (SMR)/FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Malmö FF (SWE) v FK Ventspils (LVA)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK) v The New Saints FC (WAL)
Celtic FC (SCO) v KR Reykjavík (ISL)
Cliftonville FC (NIR) v Debreceni VSC (HUN)
FK Partizan (SRB) v Lincoln FC (GIB)/HB Tórshavn (FRO)
Legia Warszawa (POL) v Saint Patrick's Athletic (IRL)
FK Rabotnicki (MKD) v HJK Helsinki (FIN)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) v VMFD Žalgiris (LTU)
PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL) v F91 Dudelange (LUX)
Valletta FC (MLT) v Qarabağ FK (AZE)
Strømsgodset IF (NOR) v FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)

*Ties are subject to possible fixture reversals and not yet confirmed

Selected for you