UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Seven days to go ... previous finals in Germany

UEFA.com marks seven days to go until the 60th European Cup final, held in Berlin, by looking back on the previous seven deciders to have been staged in Germany.

John McGovern lifts the trophy with Nottingham Forest in 1979
John McGovern lifts the trophy with Nottingham Forest in 1979 ©Getty Images

This season's UEFA Champions League final in Berlin will be the eighth European Cup decider to be held on German soil – UEFA.com recalls the previous seven.

1958/59: Real Madrid CF 2-0 Stade de Reims
(Mateos 1, Di Stéfano 47)
Neckarstadion, Stuttgart
• In a rerun of the inaugural final, Madrid prevailed once more despite the absence of Ferenc Puskás and an early injury to Raymond Kopa.

1978/79: Nottingham Forest FC 1-0 Malmö FF
(Francis 45)
Olympiastadion, Munich
• Trevor Francis's header against Malmö ensured Forest emulated Madrid and FC Internazionale Milano by lifting the European Champion Clubs' Cup at the first attempt.

1987/88: PSV Eindhoven 0-0 SL Benfica (aet, PSV win 6-5 on pens)
Neckarstadion, Stuttgart
• PSV goalkeeper Hans van Breukelen denied António Veloso in sudden death in the shoot-out as Benfica suffered a fourth consecutive defeat in a European final.

1992/93: Olympique de Marseille 1-0 AC Milan
(Boli 43)
Olympiastadion, Munich
• Basile Boli headed the clinching goal as Marseille won the first edition of the UEFA Champions League, though their triumph was subsequently marred by off-the-field affairs.

Ricken's Midas touch

1996/97: BV Borussia Dortmund 3-1 Juventus
(Riedle 29 34, Ricken 71; Del Piero 65)
Olympiastadion, Munich
• Dortmund avenged their 1993 UEFA Cup final loss to the Bianconeri to become the seventh team in European Cup history to land the trophy on home soil.

2003/04: AS Monaco FC 0-3 FC Porto
(Carlos Alberto 39, Deco 71, Alenichev 75)
Arena AufSchalke, Gelsenkirchen
• UEFA Cup winners just 12 months before, José Mourinho's Porto were too strong for Monaco and were crowned Europe's finest for the first time in 17 years.

2011/12: FC Bayern München 1-1 Chelsea FC (aet, Chelsea win 4-3 on pens)
(Müller 83; Drogba 88)
Fußball Arena München
• Bayern looked certain to prevail at home but Didier Drogba levelled late on, then converted the decider in the shoot-out, so Chelsea became the first new name on the trophy in 15 years.

Selected for you