UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Champions League top scorers: Ronaldo leads quintet

Cristiano Ronaldo remains on course to finish UEFA Champions League top scorer for a sixth time after concluding the group stage with nine goals – three more than any other player.

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates his goal against Dortmund
Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates his goal against Dortmund ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo has finished as the UEFA Champions League group stage's top scorer for a sixth time, taking his tally for the season to nine with a goal in Real Madrid's 3-2 home win against Dortmund.

2017/18 group stage top scorers
9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
6: Wissam Ben Yedder (Sevilla), Edinson Cavani (Paris), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Neymar (Paris)
5: Vincent Aboubakar (Porto), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
4: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Dortmund), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Kylian Mbappé (Paris), Dimitri Oberlin (Basel), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Talisca (Beşiktaş), Cenk Tosun (Beşiktaş)

Ronaldo, who has now solely or jointly topped the group-stage scoring charts five times for Real Madrid and once for Manchester United, struck nine times in Group H. That haul left him two shy of his group stage record of 11, set in 2015/16.


Who's in your Team of the Year?

Most goals in a single group stage
11: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2015/16)
10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2016/17)
9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2013/14 & 2017/18), Luiz Adriano (Shakhtar Donetsk, 2014/15)
8: Filippo Inzaghi (Milan, 2002/03), Hernán Crespo (Inter, 2002/03), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United, 2004/05), Cristiano Ronaldo (2017/18)

Ronaldo now has a staggering and unrivalled 114 UEFA Champions League goals (plus another one in qualifying for good measure) to his name, including 60 in the group stage alone – level with Lionel Messi.

All-time group stage top scorers
60 Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
60 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Real Madrid)
40 Karim Benzema (Lyon, Real Madrid)
32 Zlatan Ibrahimović (Ajax, Juventus, Internazionale Milano, Barcelona, AC Milan, Paris, Manchester United)
29 Raúl González (Real Madrid, Schalke)
26Sergio Agüero (Atlético Madrid, Manchester City)
Edinson Cavani (Napoli, Paris Saint-Germain)
26 Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund, Bayern München)
25 Didier Drogba (Marseille, Chelsea, Galatasaray)
25 Ruud van Nistelrooy (PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Hamburg)

Kaká finished top scorer in 2006/07
Kaká finished top scorer in 2006/07©Getty Images

From season 2007/08 onwards, either Ronaldo or Messi has been at least joint-top scorer come the end of a UEFA Champions League campaign. Ronaldo leads that particular achievement category 6-5.

UEFA Champions League top scorers by season (group stage to final)
2016/17: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 12
2015/16: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 16
2014/15: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 10
2013/14: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 17
2012/13: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – 12
2011/12: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 14
2010/11: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 12
2009/10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 8
2008/09: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) – 9
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) – 8
2006/07: Kaká (AC Milan) – 10
2005/06: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan) – 9
2004/05: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 8
2003/04: Fernando Morientes (Monaco) – 9
2002/03: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 12
2001/02: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) – 10
2000/01: Raúl González (Real Madrid) – 7
1999/2000: Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raúl González (Real Madrid) – 10
1998/99: Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) – 8
1997/98: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) – 10
1996/97: Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid) – 5
1995/96: Jari Litmanen (Ajax) – 9
1994/95: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain) – 7
1993/94: Hristo Stoichkov (Barcelona) – 5
1992/93: Franck Sauzée (Marseille) – 5

Selected for you