UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Which nations have the most UEFA Champions League winners?

Fifty-two nations can lay claim to a European Cup-winning player, with Spain boasting a total of 78: more than any other nation.

Man City's Rodri: The 78th Spanish player to play on the winning side in a European Cup final
Man City's Rodri: The 78th Spanish player to play on the winning side in a European Cup final Manchester City FC via Getty Ima

Some 619 players have featured in European Cup or Champions League final wins (many more than once)*.

That total includes the 13 who featured for Man City in the 2023 decider, with match-winner Rodri the 78th Spaniard to take the honour.

More trivia

• Greece have had the most finalists without producing a winner – 12; that total includes Panathinaikos' 11 men from their 1971 final defeat, plus Akis Zikos, a runner up with Monaco in 2004.

• Türkiye (12th in the current UEFA rankings) is the highest-ranked country never to have had a UEFA Champions League or European Cup winner; their four finalists to date all ended up with runners-up medals: Yıldıray Baştürk (Leverkusen, 2002), Hamit Altıntop (Bayern, 2010), Nuri Şahin (Dortmund, 2013) and Hakan Çalhanoğlu (Inter 2023).

• The lowest-ranked European nation to boast a UEFA Champions League or European Cup finalist and champion is San Marino; Massimo Bonini – a 1985 winner with Juventus – represented the country ranked 55th out of 55 in UEFA's national coefficient rankings.

The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners
The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners©Getty Images

Number of players (by nation) who have won the European Cup/Champions League final

78: Spain
72: Italy
69: England
65: Germany
52: Netherlands
43: Brazil
42: Portugal
34: France
26: Scotland
12: Argentina
12: Romania
10: Croatia
9: Serbia
8: Republic of Ireland
8: Denmark
7: Sweden
4: Belgium
4: Czechia
4: Norway
4: Poland
4: Wales
3: Ghana
3: Ivory Coast
3: North Macedonia
3: Nigeria
: Switzerland
3: Uruguay
2: Australia
2: Austria
2: Bosnia and Herzegovina
2: Cameroon
2: Finland
2: Mali
2: Montenegro
2: Northern Ireland
2: Senegal

Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer
Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer©Bob Thomas/Getty Images

1: Algeria (Rabah Madjer, Porto 1987)
1: Bulgaria (Hristo Stoichkov, Barcelona 1992)
1: Canada (Alphonso Davies, Bayern 2020)
1: Costa Rica (Keylor Navas, Real Madrid 2016, 2017 & 2018)
1: Egypt (Mohamed Salah, Liverpool 2019)
1: Georgia (Kakha Kaladze, AC Milan 2003 & 2007)
1: Hungary (Ferenc Puskás, Real Madrid 1959, 1960 & 1966)
1: Mexico (Rafael Márquez, Barcelona 2006)
1: Peru (Víctor Benítez, AC Milan 1963)
: South Africa (Benni McCarthy, Porto 2004)
1: Russia (Dmitri Alenichev, Porto 2004)
1: San Marino (Massimo Bonini, Juventus 1985)
1: Trinidad & Tobago (Dwight Yorke, Manchester United 1999)
1: Ukraine (Andriy Shevchenko, AC Milan 2003)
1: United States (Christian Pulišić, Chelsea 2021)
1: Zimbabwe (Bruce Grobbelaar, Liverpool 1984)

*Only players who feature in the final itself are included in this article

Last updated 10/06/2023