UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Men's Coach of the Year: Guardiola, Mancini or Tuchel?

The shortlist for the 2020/21 UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award has been announced.

2020/21 UEFA Men's Coach of the Year nominees

Josep Guardiola, Roberto Mancini and Thomas Tuchel are on the shortlist for the 2020/21 UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Men's and Women's Players of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Istanbul on Thursday 26 August. The 2020/21 UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day.

Fancy your own coaching credentials? Play Fantasy

UEFA Men's Coach of the Year nominees

Josep Guardiola (Manchester City)
Guided City to their first UEFA Champions League final and restored them at the apex of English domestic football, finishing 12 points clear in the Premier League and lifting the League Cup.

Roberto Mancini (Italy)
The puppet master behind the Azzurri's remarkable rise from failing to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup to winning UEFA EURO 2020 in thrilling style, the final their 34th game unbeaten.

Thomas Tuchel (Paris & Chelsea)
Orchestrated a sensational turnaround after replacing Frank Lampard on 26 January, leading Chelsea to their second UEFA Champions League title – the first coach to reach successive finals with different clubs.

The rest of the top ten

4 Unai Emery (Villarreal) – 64 points
5 Diego Simeone (Atlético de Madrid) – 29 points
6 Antonio Conte (Internazionale, now free agent) – 19 points
7 Gareth Southgate (England) – 18 points
8 Christophe Galtier (LOSC Lille, now at Nice) – 16 points
9 Ole Gunnar Solskjær (Manchester United) – 14 points
10 Kasper Hjulmand (Denmark) – 11 points

What is the UEFA Men's Coach of the Year award?

For this award, coaches in Europe, irrespective of nationality, have been judged in regard to their performances over the whole season in all competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club, or national team level.

How were the coaches shortlisted?

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the following:

  • 24 coaches of the teams which participated in this summer’s UEFA EURO 2020
  • 80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48)
  • 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, one from each of UEFA's member associations

Jury members chose their top three coaches, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for themselves.

Last year's winner

Hansi Flick won the 2019/20 Coach of the Year award. Bayern were fourth in the German top flight when Flick took interim charge in November 2019. A 20-match winning run meant they ultimately completed a UEFA Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup treble.