UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Frankfurt v Paris: final in depth

Three-time winners 1. FFC Frankfurt are in a record sixth final against Paris Saint-Germain, at this stage for the first time on 14 May with several former team-mates on either side.

Action from these teams' 2011 meeting
Action from these teams' 2011 meeting ©Philippe Le Brech

Three-time European champions 1. FFC Frankfurt are in a record sixth final against a Paris Saint-Germain team at this stage for the first time on 14 May in Berlin with several former team-mates in opposition. UEFA.com has a full guide to the UEFA Women's Champions League decider at Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark.

Previous meetings
• These clubs met in the 2011/12 round of 16, Frankfurt winning 4-2 on aggregate.

• Frankfurt won the first leg 3-0 with goals from Fatmire Alushi (now of Paris), Kerstin Garefrekes and Melanie Behringer.

• Paris won the second leg 2-1, and Frankfurt were to reach the final in Munich where they lost to Olympique Lyonnais. Ana-Maria Crnogorčević scored early in the second leg for Frankfurt before Alexandra Long struck twice for Paris.

• Alongside Alushi, Garefrekes and Crnogorčević, Frankfurt also fielded Dzsenifer Marozsán and Svenja Huth.

• The Paris team included Laure Boulleau and Sabrina Dellanoy.

• Overall Frankfurt's record against French teams is P7 W3 D1 L3 F9 A8. That includes the 2012 final, a 2-0 loss to Lyon.

• Paris's only other meeting with a German side apart from their encounter with Frankfurt in November 2011 was in this season's semi-final, where they ended VfL Wolfsburg's unbeaten record with a 2-0 away win and went through despite a 2-1 loss in Paris.

Match background
Four German sides – Frankfurt (2002, 2006, 2008), Potsdam (2005, 2010), Duisburg (2009) and Wolfsburg (2013, 2014) – have taken the title, with just one victorious club each for the other successful nations: Sweden's Umeå IK (2003, 2004), France's Olympique Lyonnais (2011, 2012) and England's Arsenal LFC (2007).

• No team has won as many titles as Frankfurt's three, and they are in their sixth final, one more than Umeå. As well as 2012, they lost in the 2004 final to Umeå and 2005 decider against Potsdam.

• This is the eighth final in a row (and 12th overall) with German representatives – they won the first three of those before two losses to Lyon, who were then beaten by Wolfsburg 1-0 at Stamford Bridge in 2013 (the second Franco-German final after 2012). Wolfsburg overcame Tyresö FF of Sweden last year in Lisbon.

• This is the fifth final with French representatives, Lyon providing the other four appearances in as many years. Defeated by Potsdam in 2010, they were victorious against the same team a year later, won against Frankfurt in 2012 then lost versus Wolfsburg the following year.

Several of Duisburg's 2009 team will be in Berlin
Several of Duisburg's 2009 team will be in Berlin©Getty Images

Team facts
• If Paris win, Josephine Henning and Fatmire Alushi would emulate Conny Pohlers by winning the competition with three clubs.

• Henning won with Potsdam (2010) and Wolfsburg (2013, 2014). Alushi triumphed with Duisburg (2009) and Potsdam (2010).

• Henning would also equal the record of four victories jointly held by Pohlers and Viola Odebrecht.

• Alongside Alushi in Duisburg's 2009 champions were Frankfurt's Simone Laudehr and current Paris duo Linda Bresonik and Annike Krahn,

• Paris trio Laura Georges, Shirley Cruz Traña and Aurélie Kaci all won with Lyon in 2011 and 2012.

• Kerstin Garefrekes and Saskia Bartusiak won this competition with Frankfurt in 2006 and 2008.

• Other past winners in the Frankfurt squad include Svenja Huth (Frankfurt 2008) and Bianca Schmidt (Potsdam 2010),

• Frankfurt's Verónica Boquete and Paris midfielder Caroline Seger – who is suspended for the final – were part of the Tyresö side that lost last year's final.

• Paris coach Farid Benstiti reached the 2010 final with Lyon, losing on penalties to a Potsdam team featuring Alushi, Henning and Schmidt in Getafe.

• The Paris squad boasts German internationals in Henning, Krahn, and Alushi. Retired international Bresonik and back-up goalkeeper Ann-Katrin Berger is also from Germany.

• Paris could become only the second team to win this competition without ever having been domestic league champions after Bresonik and Krahn's Duisburg in 2009.

Germany precedent
• While this is the first final in Berlin itself, several previous editions have concluded in Germany, starting with the first UEFA Women's Cup in 2002 where Frankfurt, playing at home, beat Umeå 2-0.

• The other one-off final in Germany was Frankfurt's 2-0 loss to Lyon in 2012 in front of a competition-record 50,125 crowd at Munich's Olympiastadion.

• The other matches were in the old two-legged final:
2004 second leg: Frankfurt 0-5 Umeå (agg: 0-8)
2005 second leg: Potsdam 3-1 Djurgårdens DFF (agg: 5-1)
2006 first leg: Frankfurt 4-0 Potsdam
2006 second leg: Potsdam 2-3 Frankfurt (agg: 2-7)
2008 second leg: Frankfurt 3-2 Umeå (agg: 4-3)
2009 second leg: Duisburg 1-1 Zvezda-2005 (agg: 7-1)

In her debut European season, Frankfurt's Célia Šašić has scored 13 goals, one behind the record held by Conny Pohlers (2004/05) and Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (2008/09).